IT’S ALIIIIIIIIIIIIIIVE!

25 Oct

I think I’m finally ready to admit it.  I let my blog die.

How-ev-er, I can’t think of a better time to raise it from the depths of neglect than in October.  I can finally shout ‘IT’S ALIIIIIIIIIIIIIIVE!’ with purpose during the month dedicated to Frankenstein, mummies and a variety of other ‘undead’ creatures.   And I’ve always wanted to do that.

Now, on to the official blog topic…

For the last 2 years during the week leading up to Halloween, my husband and I have held ‘7 Nights of Horror’.  For the sake of full disclosure, by night 5 or so I’m…

1)      begging my husband to leave the lights on during the movie (which is strictly against the rules).

AND

2)      waking up in cold sweats at 3:00 am.

But for some reason it seems worth it at the time.  Now I can say ‘I warned you’ if you suffer the same adverse affects.

For  your reading pleasure here are some of our featured movies from the ’08 season (it was a good year – trust me).  I’ve rated them out of 5 screams for freaky factor and out of 5 elixirs for quality (you think that’s corny –well whatever, you’re corny!). 7 Nights of Horror will be a lot of fun and will likely **full disclosure moment** make you lose sleep and/or raise your blood pressure.  I hope the list inspires you to start your own Nights of Horror tradition.

Best of 2008 7NoH

Rosemary’s Baby

  • 3.5 Screams – This movie is more tense than scary.  But it may haunt you later, especially if you are a woman who hasn’t had kids yet (like me, gulp).  But I’d wager you will be able to sleep after watching.
  • 4.5 Elixirs – Although Roman Polanski is apparently a horn dog, this in no way affects his ability to craft an exceptional tension ridden horror flick.  Don’t watch this with your friend who likes ‘Real bloody movies’ for he is sure to be disappointed.  But the lack of gore and the building horror is exactly why I loved this movie.  This is probably one of the best on the list – if you haven’t seen it and you like ‘smart movies’ go for it!! (Ok, I admit, I was using some sort of psychological technique to get you to watch this movie – but I’m not a psychologist so ummm…just do it!

The Wicker Man (the original NOT the Nickolas Cage version)

  • 1 Scream – This movie isn’t scary.  Until you consider that maybe people do have the capacity to lure a stranger in for… this community’s dark tradition.  I feel it is better categorized as a strange and bewildering movie than a horror flick.  However, if you were actually in the place of the main character you would be horrified.  But, in the safety of your darkened living room you are unlikely to break out into a sweat, sit on the edge of your seat, or gasp in horror.  Unless you are like me and a 3 minute song sung by a naked Scottish lady scares you – I suggest the fast forward button for that part.
  • 3 Elixirs – I read an article that labeled this flick ‘The Citizen Cane of horror films’.  I wouldn’t go that far.  But I would say if you want to be ‘with it’ in the refined horror world (and who doesn’t?) then you should probably either watch this movie or read the Wikipedia article.

Scream

  • 3 Screams – This movie is supposed to be a play on slasher movie clichés.  But I’d be lying if I said “I totally wasn’t scared, and I think it would be hilarious if I kept getting prank calls while I was staying alone in my out of the way home.”
  • 3.5 Elixirs – Again, this movie is funny and smart and scary.  And genre hybrids are risky.  I usually hate movies that don’t seem to know what they want to be e.g. the comedy/drama.  But Wes Craven pulls out laughs and shocks in one package.  I salute you.

The Blair Witch Project

  • 2 Screams – I’ll admit it, I fell asleep during this movie.  But that doesn’t mean I wasn’t chilled by the final shaky images of the film.  Again, it would be tremendously scary to be lost in those woods, but I wasn’t too worried as I ate candy and dozed peacefully that great 2008 Halloween.
  • 3 Elixirs  – I think we have this movie to thank for all the hand held point of view horror movies that have come out recently (Cloverfield, District 9, Paranormal Activity).  And it is the innovative (yet gut churning) POV that does add tension to the film.  Maybe one day, I will watch it through while fully awake.  And I would not say that about all the films I fell asleep during…Sorry 2001.

Are you scared to try these movies?  Or are you simply shocked by how wordy my reviews are?  Either way, if you were planning on getting in the Halloween spirit I hope that these critical and precise ratings help you along your spooky road.  If you’ve already seen all of these, have no fear – tomorrow I’ll post the best of 2009 – hope you can sleep till then!

And on a totally unrelated note…here’s where my dog was while I wrote this post. 

 

images.jpg Wicker Man_no.jpg

 

 

Leave a Reply

