The Beautiful, the Enjoyable, and the one Ugly experience – My first week in LR

28 Oct

Tomorrow morning at around 1:30 am, I will officially complete my first week as a Little Rock resident.  So (being the reflective person that I am), it is time for a thought provoking list on what I have encountered so far.   Enjoy my initial impressions of the Natural State!

The Beautiful Pinnacle State Park: On Sunday, my husband, Buster and I took the opportunity to explore Pinnacle Mountain.  I wouldn’t call myself a nature girl, but I do enjoy a good hike now and then.  However, I have to admit I’m out of practice and I kept picturing myself falling off a cliff into oblivion, dashed on the rocks and never to be seen or heard from again (morbid, I know).   Yet the sudden appearance of a 5 year old child skipping down the path past me gave just the right reminder – if he can do it, I can do it (or I will look really weak).  So I escaped my tumbling fear and began to enjoy the fantastic views and the crisp air.  Ike and I have decided to make Pinnacle our weekend place to walk Buster.   So thanks AR, you are beautiful and you give people excellent backdrops to be active and happy.

The enjoyable existence of Fall: This may be an obvious observation, but  – fall exists in AR!!  Lest a disgruntled Houstonian complain, I will admit that before I left the Lone Star state, we did have some convincingly cool days.  But a few cool days doesn’t seem that fallish when compared to Arkansas’s changing trees, perfectly cool breezes, and gentle hills that proudly display the orange, yellow, and red in every direction.  Maybe this year, I won’t get bitten by mosquitoes when I put up Christmas decorations!  Only time will tell, but so far the weather and the fall scenery has been an enjoyable component of my AR days.

Ugly experience with a SCARY LADY: On the whole I have been extremely impressed with the open kindness of the Arkansans I have encountered.  I really hate to bring this instance up, as it is much more the exception than the rule.  But I can’t help myself because it is a good story.  So again, I like Arkansas and the people, but I think I may have encountered the meanest lady in Little Rock during my very first week.

I am currently an active job searcher, and what else does an active job searcher need than the internet?  We don’t have internet at our apartment yet, and all our neighbors password protect their wireless (lame).   So I’ve had to venture out of my apartment (in foreign terrain) in search of free Wi-Fi.  After 2 days at the closest Starbucks, I decided to change gears and go for some library time.  With only my Garmin to guide me, I picked the closest library on the list and went for it.  I’m not a bad driver really, but when I don’t know where I’m going, I sure you wouldn’t want to be behind me.  Anyway, when I finally arrived at the library of choice I realized that I had mistakenly chosen one that was on a school campus.  Unsure of what to do next I went ahead and turned into the parking lot so I could regroup and find another Wi-Fi location on the Garmin.  An unpleasant and extended honk from one of my fellow travelers punctuated my entry into the parking lot.

As I was about to back out of my space, a lady (apparently the honker) stubbornly parked behind my car.  I started freaking out, but I knew for sure that I didn’t hit her because she had been behind me.  So instead of being confident (or whatever), I decided to wait her out.  She seriously stayed parked behind my car thus blocking my ability to leave for 10 – 15 minutes.  Let me tell you, it was an unnerving experience.  I have no idea what I did to her, but I’m guessing she wanted to give me a piece of her mind.   She didn’t have the chance as she finally gave up and drove away with her silver car and disgruntled expression.

So that’s my first week in a nutshell, and I’m looking forward to many more. Bring it on Arkansas.  But I’d rather more of the beautiful and enjoyable.  You can keep the ugly parking lot conflicts to yourself.

Leave a Reply

