Old-Fashioned Soft Pumpkin Cookies, Anyone?

1 Nov

Welcome to November!  Or as I like to call it, ‘Month dedicated to Pumpkin themed desserts’.  In that proud tradition, I’d like to share a recipe I tried out (with much success) this weekend.  Before you go thinking I’m a baking genius, I want to give credit to the internet where I found this recipe.  If fluffy and delicious pumpkin cookies sound good to you, click here for a more concise recipe format.

Okay, I thought I would do this post Pioneer Woman style.  Read on to see how I created this baking masterpiece, but don’t take my word for it (Bu-Da-Dum), try it for yourself!

1.       Set the oven to the most common cookie temp aka 350 (sorry for the fuzzy pic, I’m not a professional so get off my back!)

2.       Turn on some inspirational tunes (I went for something in French to make me feel ‘real sophisticated’).

3.       Make sure your furry companion is close by (they make excellent vacuum cleaners for spilt ingredients).

4.       Gather the ingredients and place them all in a bowl so you can take a picture…wait a minute, just get them all out.

You can tell where I shop, huh?   I bet this recipe will still work even if you shop at the ‘finer’ grocery stores.

5.       Soften the stick of butter, I find 30 seconds in the microwave does the trick.  Not too solid, not too melted, but just right.

6.       Cream 1 &1/2 C sugar with the 1 stick butter.  Did I mention how healthy this recipe is?

7.       Add 1 C Pumpkin, 1 egg, and 1 tsp vanilla to the mix.  Sorry I have to show this step, but it is part of the process.  It won’t look like barf for long, I promise. And as much as you want to try the pure pumpkin right out of the can – don’t, just trust me on this.

8.       Once it is a pretty sherbet  (or for the men out there – light orange) gradually add the flour mixture.  2 ½ C flour (I use self rising flour because I’m lazy, but if you use all purpose then add 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, and ½ tsp salt).  Then don’t forget the ½ tsp nutmeg and ½ tsp cinnamon (as I almost did – horror of horrors!).  The batter will get thick so you might have to switch from your mixer to a spoon to get the job done.  But have no fear, if you are weak like me, you’ll get in your arm workout for the day.

9.       Oops! I forgot to photo document this part, but you need to grease a cookie sheet and spoon out evenly-spaced 2” dough balls on said sheet (be mature here, no giggling).  I think I ended up baking each batch for about 11 – 12 minutes.  And I’m of the gooey cookie school.

10.   While the cookies are in the oven, it is time to mix up the glaze.  Again, arrange all ingredients…

11.   I softened the 1 TB of butter, and then added the rest of the ingredients (2 C powdered sugar, 3 TB milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract)to a small bowl.

12.   It should look awesome, or smooth like the picture below.

13.   Now I hope I don’t really have to say this, but when the buzzer goes off take the cookies out.  (Ok, I really just wanted to show off my cool in the oven’ shot).

14.   Now glaze those cookies as you’ve never glazed before (no rush really, I’m just trying to create some urgency in the post…it’s about cookies for goodness sakes).  By the way, I played it safe and followed the glaze recipe this time to great results.  But I think I may try to kick it up a notch someday and make some cream cheese icing for these bad boys.  Just some food (get it? food!) for thought.

15.   Now put those cookies on a cute plate and invite some friends over so you don’t eat them all yourself!  This recipe makes about 3-4 dozen cookies so you can freeze or refrigerate the dough if you don’t want to make all the cookies and once and thus be forced to gorge yourself these irresistible treats.

That’s it for today!  Hope you have a great Month dedicated to Pumpkin themed desserts!

One Response to “Old-Fashioned Soft Pumpkin Cookies, Anyone?”

  1. Michal November 1, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    Yum! I made a pumpkin spice cake last week with a similar recipe. I love fall-ish sweets (said as I gorge myself on 1/2 price candy corn).

Leave a Reply

