I Am Super Shredder*

4 Nov

* = Not to be confused with the villan at the end of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze.

This Spring I received a great gift.  Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred.  Today, I’ll hold your attention for just a moment to recommend this 20 minute torture…I mean work out video.  Here’s why you should buy (and suffer through) it, plain and simple.   Don’t even think about phoning this one in, I can see you through your computer screen… (I thought I’d try to use one of Jillian’s lines, but it is kind of creepy in a blog setting).  Anyway, read on – it will do your body and mind good.

All you need is 10 bucks, a mat and some hand weights.

This workout is low maintenance.  And as being low maintenance is a point of pride for most people, I thought it would be a nice selling point.  You don’t need fancy equipment, a gym membership, or a 100 buck DVD set to do the Shred.  You just need yourself, the $10 DVD, and some cheap-o hand weights.  So for all of you who are low on cash, I’ve just robbed you of the ‘I don’t have enough money to workout’ excuse.  Tough love baby, sorry.

All you need is 20 minutes a day.

A lot of people don’t think they have enough time to work out.  But leaving working out out of your schedule is a disservice to yourself.  Don’t you want to be around in 20 years to say you’re too busy to do stuff?  Then why not sacrifice a 20 minute block of time for an intense workout?  You don’t even have to get in your car to go anywhere!  I’ll paint the level of time commitment it takes.  Pop the DVD in.  Press play.  Walk back to your mat.  Work your little heart out for 20 minutes.  Press stop.  Does that sound too hard?  I’m not even simplifying it (that much).  So for all you who are too busy, you are now without validation!  (Are you feeling the tough love vibe here?  I feel so powerful.)

All of your muscles will feel like this (see below)

I’ve (up to this point) lived my entire life with noodle arms, or to be more specific – Angel Hair arms.  I had even encountered a few doors that were too hard for me to open.  But with the Shred I am for the first time able to do 20 push-ups at a time (real ones, not girl ones!).  And I’ve recently moved up from using 2 pound weights to fivers.  I flex and something happens!   I say all this to prove that Jillian gets results.  No I haven’t lost the promised 20 pounds on the DVD box, but I have become toned for the first time in my life.  And it’s not just my arms.  My legs, back, and abs are also feeling the love.  And all this good from a small investment of money and time!  (I’m very convincing, huh?)

All of your attitude will get better.

This aspect is an added bonus.  I know some of you will probably think Jillian is pushy and annoying (Ike…).  But I’ve found that she is inspirational.  While I am hoofing through some challenging move, she starts saying that I’m stronger than I think I am.  And that if I can push myself through this, then my new found confidence and strength will be evident in all aspects of my life.  Whoa.  All the sudden, I’m not just doing squat presses, I’m proving that I’m a strong person who can make goals, stick to them, and accomplish more than I set out to do.   I love that!   I need to hear messages like that especially in this transitional time in my life.  I know that I will have to push myself out of my comfort zone to make new friends, get a new job, and start my life in a new place.  I know that I am stronger than I give myself credit for sometimes.  And if you try out the DVD, who knows what little kernel of wisdom you will glean?

Well, I’m tired out after all that convincing!  I didn’t even cover her innovative 3-2-1 system, I’ll let that be a cliff hanger for you.  Buy the DVD!  I’m 99.9% sure you won’t be disappointed!   It is a tough workout, but it is worth it!

Leave a Reply

