Rain, Rain, Don’t Go Away

16 Nov

It is a blustery November day here in Little Rock. And blustery days make me feel cinematic. You know what I mean? I suddenly feel compelled to blast some classical music, gaze out on my rain swept surroundings, and imagine some super dramatic scene. Maybe that’s because so many movies use rain to heighten tension, mystery, romance, or freedom. This morning, my imaginings were foiled by my wet dog’s slight odor and his need for a flea bath. Sigh, real life. Now, that we’re all clean and calm again, I’ve had time to think of a short list of movies with pivotal rain scenes. Ok, some are more pivotal than others, but all do feature rain. I promise. Now it’s time to grab a cup of tea, blast some movie sound tracks and read on!

I’m trying to offer you, my lovely readers, a rounded experience, so here’s a sad, funny, tense, and inspirational rain scene.*
*=I’ve never seen “Singing In the Rain” so the rain scene that is apparently in that movie is not on my list. Sorry, I’ve been deprived. Get over it! No really, it is on my “to see list”.  But it’s a long list.

Sense and Sensibility


Sorry guys, this is one of those “talking movies” based on a Jane Austen book that my dad, brother, and husband run from in absolute terror. When I have been able to trick them into watching one, they do end up appreciating the wit, charm, and emotional depth that Austen has to offer, but not without a healthy (or nauseating) amount of complaining. In the 1995 Emma Thompson version of S & S, Kate Winslet’s character mourns her unrequited love in the rain. She stands there, drenched, looking at his house quoting Shakespeare’s Sonnet #116. Very heartbreaking and dramatic. Every time I see rain beating down on a grassy hill or trees I think of this scene and the beginning of the Sonnet.
Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove:
O no! it is an ever-fixéd mark
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
Hey look, how much culture you got today. I bet you weren’t expecting that!

Mean Girls


Ok, this is the scene that isn’t pivotal but does happen to feature rain. At the end of Mean Girls Karen turns her mean girl life around and starts using her 5th sense, ESPN. She apparently has the skill to tell when it is already raining. Rainy and funny.

Jurassic Park


If you’ve seen this wonderful masterpiece of a movie, it is hard to forget the ripples of tension and water that the T-rex makes as he stomps his way to his acting debut. The pelting rain only adds to the terror as people meet their maker at the jaws or poisonous spit of their dinosaur co-stars. Speaking of poisonous spit, did anyone else have that foaming Dilophosaurus shampoo? It was very cool.

The Shawshank Redemption

(Spoiler alert: if you haven’t seen this movie, don’t read this post. But you should totally see it. It is awesome.)

This rain scene is glorious! After years of imprisonment for a crime he did not commit, Tim Robbin’s character crawls his way to freedom in the rain. He stands there, basking in the moment, arms spread, accepting the cleansing freedom that is finally his. Wow, I’m getting a little dramatic there myself. The image of his outstretched arms in the rain always seems like it would be fun to try. But then the reality of soggy socks, jeans, hair keeps me in the warmth of my home. I’ve never been in prison, no need to be dramatic in the rain for me.

Hope you are all toasty and comfortable as you read about these soggy scenes. Come back tomorrow, I’m going to share my lauded Mexican Chocolate Cake recipe. Till then, keep warm!

Leave a Reply

