Best of 2010 Volume I: Plays

22 Nov

Hey there, and welcome to the first edition of my illustrious “Best of 2010” Series.  Every Monday from now until 2011 (or until I run out of topics) I’ll share my “Best of (awesome category of the week)” picks.  I know that for sure I’ll cover albums, movies, and books in the near future so stay tuned.  One final nuance: my picks haven’t all originated during 2010; instead they are things I’ve encountered for the first time this year.  Sorry if that seems shady, but it is my blog and I make the rules. Deal with it!

So today I’ll share the best plays of my 2010.  These are in no particular order.  They are all special in their own way.

Working

Katy Visual & Performing Arts Center – Katy, TX


Working was a slightly depressing play, so don’t say I didn’t warn you.  It features monologues from people describing what they do, and let me tell you these are some extremely disgruntled employees.  The characters repeatedly feel forced, trapped or dehumanized by their professions.  Although bleak, the play eventually comes to the conclusion that peoples’ jobs do not define them.  A job instead allows them to be a part of something bigger than themselves (and gives them money to eat and stuff).   This play inspired me to find work that I love and to be kind to all workers out there.  Nice silver lining, huh?  A+ to me.

1776

The Greater Cleburne Carnegie Players – Cleburne, TX


This was a great community theater production.  If you live in the Dallas area, you may want watch the Carnegie Players’ schedule.  I was lucky enough to watch the movie version of 1776 (featuring a young Mr. Fuh-Fuh-Feeny) in AP US History), but if you somehow missed out on the experience, 1776 shares a musical version of the signing of the Declaration of Independence.    With a funny, romantic and tense plot, this makes for some good (mostly clean) historical fun

Little Shop of Horrors

Miller Outdoor Theater – Houston, TX


Every year  the Theater Under the Stars puts on a free musical at Miller Outdoor theater in Houston.  You can either get tickets to reserve seats, or pull up a blanket on the hill behind the stage.  Lots of free fun, but it was summer in Houston, so it was hot hot hot.  Our friends brought some homemade ice cream to share, so that made it awesome.  This classic play details the misadventure of Seymour as he balances fame and fortune with the ravenous and twisted hunger of his exotic plant.  A 60’s inspired soundtrack makes this play a lot of fun.

Young Frankenstein

Hobby Center – Houston, TX


Young Frankenstein: The Musical stays very loyal to the classic movie’s plot line and jokes, but (obvious alert) with more innuendo flavored songs and dancing.  Although it’s not destined to be a Broadway classic, it does feature some great numbers and my personal favorite brand of dancing: TAP!  The “Putting on the Ritz” number is an impressive, or dare I say jaw dropping, spectacle.  However, the plays subject matter is not for kiddos so leave the toddlers at home, will ya?

Wicked

Hobby Center – Houston, TX


I finally got to see Wicked this year!  I know, I know…I’m a little late to join the 2 million people bandwagon.  But after years of listening to the soundtrack, I just couldn’t resist finally seeing the musical.  And I was not disappointed.  Although, I do wish I could steal a time machine and lots of money, and go see the play with the original cast.  But the traveling Glenda and Elphaba were impressive singers and I did get goosebumps during “Defying Gravity”.  Mission accomplished!

So, there you go!  I’ll admit those are actually all the plays I saw this year, but they were also the best so it still works.  Going to a play is a great option for entertainment and it makes you feel smart, so I suggest going to the real theater as soon as possible.  I have “A Christmas Story” coming up here in LR, so I’ll let you know how it goes.  And with that, I’ll close the curtains on this post. (see what I did there??)

Leave a Reply

