Best of 2010: TV Comedies

23 Dec

Last Best of 2010 post! I cannot think of a better way to end the series than with a Best of TV comedies list. Ok, fine, it just randomly ended up this way. But I still think that reflecting on the shows that make me laugh is a positive way to transition into 2011. Savor this best of list because…
A) It is the last in the series.
AND
B) It is my last post of 2010.
I’ll see you back on my blog, bright and early on January 3rd. Try not to miss me too much.

Park & Recreation


I admit I, like most Office fans, was suspicious of Park & Recreation initially. The look and premise of the show (mockumentary in an office setting) seemed a little um, done before. But I since I’m an adult I can admit I was wrong. And lucky for me that by the time I finally got around to giving the show a chance all the existing episodes were all on Netflix Watch Instantly. I like Park & Recreation because it’s mostly carefree nature makes me happy. Leslie Knope’s infallible good attitude in the midst government bureaucracy is refreshing and hilarious. I love how the gang gangs up on Jerry, how Ron Swanson grudgingly supports Leslie’s antics, how Andy constantly changes his band’s name, and of course how Tom markets his club ownership dreams.

Modern Family


I hate dramedies. The comedy is usually forced and the drama, melodramatic. Modern Family thankfully does not fall into this category. No, Modern Family made the list because it is manages to combine hilarity and heart successfully. Each character in the Modern FamilyTree adds a unique touch of comedy to the screen, while at the same time exuding family love and support. I especially love the Dunphy family. Frank’s little technology songs, ADHD and general husband cluelessness usually steal the show for me.

30 Rock


The zany characters and the situations that those characters find themselves in make 30 Rock hilarious. I’m a big fan of Liz Lemon’s self deprecating humor. Tina Fey successfully presents Liz as a dorky but lovable professional woman seeking a solid relationship and a family of her own. Sharing time! My favorite images are from the episode “Dealbreakers Talk Show #0001”where Liz tries to shoot the pilot of her new show, Dealbreakers. You ready? When she stands in front of an HD camera she looks like an old hag and Kenneth bops by as a Muppet. Hilarious! And that’s just a tiny sample of what 30 Rock has to offer.

Community


Community is yet another show that has assembled a hilarious cast. But we all know there is more to comedy than that, right? The clever writing, character chemistry and hilarious community college setting (and the creepy “human being” mascot) all make me chuckle. My favorite episodes spoof different movie genres like the chicken finger mafia or the paint ball war. But the show is compelling because it is about a random group of people without much in common who end up bonding and helping each other become better people (most of the time).

I’ve really enjoyed sharing my blog with all of you these past few months. I’ll be back in 2011 with new subjects and maybe a few new series. Have a great holiday season!!

One Response to “Best of 2010: TV Comedies”

  1. thriftymom December 23, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

    I have really enjoyed your blogging. Looking forward to next year’s posts. Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

