Sweet & Simple Sugar Cookies

12 Jan

Last Tuesday was the Sugar Bowl. It was an exciting game, and I won’t dwell on the disappointing results. I was, after all, raised in a Razorback family and now live in the heart of Hogs fandom. Although Mallet couldn’t hammer down a win (couldn’t help myself), Ike and I had a great time watching the game. Why? I’ll tell you! I made these great Sweet and Simple Sugar Cookies to celebrate. The Hogs should really go to the Sugar Bowl more often. But I can also work with the Orange Bowl or the Tostitos Bowl for next year. But the Insight Bowl and even the Rose Bowl really leaves something to be desired when it comes to themed celebratory food. Anyway, here’s an easy sugar cookie and quick vanilla icing recipe (both from my Better Homes & Garden cook book) to help you celebrate the Sugar Bowl or any other sweet occasion in your life.

1. Preheat oven to 375. You may be able to wait on this step if you choose to chill and shape the cookies. Just something to consider.

2. Beat ¾ cup softened butter for 30 seconds. And in case you were wondering, ¾ cup butter is about 12 TB. I totally did that in my head. Ok, fine I looked it up.

3. Add ¾ cup sugar, 1 tsp baking powder & ¼ tsp salt to beaten butter. When combined, add 1 egg, 1 TB milk, 1 tsp vanilla and 2 cups flour. You may have to stir in the last bit of flour. Unless, of course, you have your handy dandy high-powered mixer, like me. Oh no, was that bragging?

4. Cover and chill dough until it is easy to handle. I let it chill for about half an hour. Of course, I skip this step when I just want plain old round sugar cookies. In that case, I would grease the bottom of a round glass cup, and pour about ½ cup sugar into a small bowl. Then just dip the cup into the sugar and press down on small mounds of dough. Delicious and cuts out steps!

5. If you want the cute shaped sugar cookies, continue with me. Get half the dough out of the fridge and roll out on a lightly floured surface. Emphasis on light, too much flour can make the dough tough.

6. Flour the cookie cutter before each new cookie to get the best shape success rate. Hey, I know my shape is a little Christmas-y, but I was going for Sugar Cane, not candy cane. You with me?

7. Bake for about 7 minutes per batch. Cool on wire rack.

8. While the cookies are baking, make your delightfully drizzly icing. To make icing, combine 1 cup powdered sugar, ¼ tsp vanilla and 1 TB milk. Just mix until you reach the right consistency.

9. Ice cookies and enjoy during the next sweet happening in your life.

Sweet homemade sugar cookies are a great choice for a multitude of reasons, but I will give you 2.

1. You probably always have the ingredients on hand (no fancy chips for these bad boys).

2. Plus you have options, you can go fancy shapes or low key rounds. And maybe if you are feeling crazy you can throw in some chocolate or cinnamon into the icing.

See? I’ve left you absolutely no excuses! Try your hand at this cute, light and delicious treats when you have a little time and big sweet tooth.

Leave a Reply

