Haircut Thoughts

27 Jan

Today I’m getting my first haircut in Arkansas. Exciting, but daunting. One of the downsides of moving? Finding a new EVERYTHING. Things like a grocery store, a church home, an apartment, a doctor and more must be located ASAP. Not to mention, the fun, yet challenging task of making new friends. In Texas we had just nailed down all those favorites and made some wonderful friends, just to move and start the process all over again. It is kind of like finding that perfect snoozing position just before the alarm rings. Don’t get me wrong. I also see moving as an adventure, and a chance to break away from the complacent aspects in my life. For instance, I’ve taken the opportunity to turn my career in a writing centric direction. I am thrilled that I have gotten a chance to start over in this way. But do I really have to find a new favorite Mexican restaurant? Ugh. I miss La Finca! All this to share what makes me nervous about trying out a new stylist.

Speaking My Mind

I am never good at the consultation part of the cut. But the worst is when I share my vision and the stylist says, “No, you don’t want that,” or something to that effect. And I just say, “ok” and let them do what they want. But that rubs me the wrong way.  Yes, they are the professionals so I do value their advice, but I don’t like being told what I do and do not want for my own head. I have come to terms with the fact that my semi-wavy hair isn’t the ideal candidate for trendy styles, but I’d rather the stylist work with me than tell me straight up, “No.” See the difference? So non-pushy and professional is what I’m looking for.

Small Talk

I don’t dread small talk, but I am always surprised to hear the intimate life details some people share with their stylists. I never get that deep. The last movie I saw or where I live, fine. But the inner workings of my marriage? Cringe! I also never know how much they want to talk which leads to a lot of introspection. Am I talking too much? Am I being boring? And so on. I’d like to hit a good rhythm with my stylist. Not too much pressure to talk, but easy to talk to. Am I asking for too much here? Plus, any attempt to chat during the blow drying session is a red flag. Too many possibilities for a fake nod and laughs.

Pricing Conundrum

I really like the fancy and relaxing salon experience. But I don’t love the fancy and relaxing salon experience price. So I’m always on the lookout for a great stylist that doesn’t cost an arm and a leg. I remember reading in the book, “The Millionaire Next Door,” something like millionaires rarely spend more than $25 – $40 for a haircut. Sorry I don’t remember the exact price, but it was a lot less than I routinely spent. Oops. So the budgeter in me wants to find the best deal, while the person who looks in the mirror wants a decent to above average cut. Rarely do those 2 things match. But when they do, you have struck gold my friend. If I feel I’ve spent too much, even if I love the cut, I do not go back.

So wish me luck! I’m leaving right about now.

Leave a Reply

