Fake House Hunting

31 Jan

Good afternoon! I hope you had a great weekend! Wow. Look at me, two exclamation points in two sentences. I hope you share my (attempts at) enthusiasm this fine Monday. Anyway as always, Ike and I were looking for fun and mostly free things to do this weekend. We found a great pastime on Sunday afternoon – Open House hopping. It is a no pressure way to see inside a sampling of houses, and it gives us a better idea of different neighborhoods and districts in the city. And just as importantly, it helps us see in person what we like and don’t like in a home (much better than just clicking through MLS listing photos). All it costs is a little gas and 2 hours of your life. Not so bad by my estimation. Also, we have an impressive collection of realtor business cards going. Jealous? After testing the waters in the surrounding ‘burbs for the last few weeks, we decided to focus on Little Rock Houses yesterday. The vast majority of Little Rock houses are older and some even date back to the early 1900s. So I’d venture to say, although we probably wouldn’t get all the modern amenities in an older home, we would get more personality and cool status with a craftsman style house. See below the break for a few houses we toured yesterday. Let me know what you think!

New Construction Gamble

The Pros: We did find one new construction example yesterday. And it was beautiful inside. Hard wood floors and tiled fire place in the living area, fancy kitchen and bathrooms, roomy extra rooms. I could totally picture my furniture in there.

The Cons: Unfortunately the neighborhood scared me. Not in a “I fear for my life” sort of way, but in a “Who would actually want to live here” way. The several new houses that were built were on an unfinished street behind another older, let’s say “not aged so well” neighborhood. The lack of neighborhood feeling turned me off; as I’m sure it would other prospective buyers.

Tiny (but cute) house in Hillcrest

The Pros: This neighborhood is CUTE, and so was the house we toured. We loved the dark hardwoods, the tall ceilings, and the covered porch.

The Cons: They really make you pay for cute. And I don’t have a lot of clothes, but even I would struggle to fit my stuff in the measly closet space. Plus, for the health of my marriage I need a bathroom with a double vanity! This house was basically a fancy 2 bedroom apartment. Not a good investment for a couple who will SOMEDAY have a growing family.

Adorable Cottage in the Quapaw Quarter

The Pros: This darling house was completely updated and literally right across the street from the governor’s mansion. I really loved the chandeliers and built in book shelves. This family did a wonderful job of updating this cottage. I have to say it was my favorite of the day.

The Cons: For one, the washer and dryer were in the kitchen. And the deal breaker, the yard was non-existent. After 3 years in an apartment, I really want Buster to have his own space. Poor little (nervous) guy, he needs space to run and play!

Fake House Hunting is our new obsession. We are getting to the point when we really want our own space. Plus, the more research we put in now, the better chance we have of making a great choice when we finally get to do real house hunting. Oh, to dream!

Leave a Reply

