2011 Resolutions: February Reality Check

1 Feb

Hey there and happy February. To keep me honest, I’m going to review my 2011 resolutions every month to see if I’m making any progress at all. This may get ugly, but I think it is an excellent way to keep me on track. Deep breathe. Ok, let’s see how I did in Jan!

Find a church home in Little Rock

Status: Not finished

Progress: We are making headway on this one. But with so many great churches and people in the area, this is turning out to be a tougher decision than I thought it would be. I’d say we have it narrowed down to two solid options. So that’s progress, right? I bet we will make the final decision within this month or next. But I don’t see any reason to rush this important decision.

Read at least 1 novel per month


Status: Ahead of schedule!

Progress: I’ve finished 3 books just in January. Two easy ones, Catching Fire and Mockingjay and one challenge The Silmarillion (I know, finally). So far, so good. By the way, yes, I would recommend the Hunger Games series! Engrossing to say the least.

Teach Buster a new trick


Status: Slow Start

Progress: As I’ve shared, I am reading a book on reactive dogs to see if it helps Buster’s behavior. So far, I haven’t been consistently following the book’s suggestions. But the author does encourage clicker training, so I think I’m going to try that out. I’ll hopefully have a better update for you next month.

Find a way to generate income while doing work I love

Status: Not Finished

Progress: I will just say that I’m making progress in this area, but it is a slow process. Believe me, when I land my dream job, I’ll let you know!

Continue saving for a house down payment

Status: Dreaming big

Progress: Although we don’t have a second income to really support the down payment we need, we are finding little ways to save with the income we have, like stricter menu planning and smaller slush funds. And in the meantime, we are fake house hunting like crazy. I believe that the research we are doing now will help us make an intelligent choice whenever we finally get to make our first house purchase.

Keep in touch with my college pals

Status: On track!

Progress: I have exciting plans for this May to see at least 2 of my former roomies. Plus, with the modern communication channels like Facebook and cell phones, I am mostly up to date with what’s going on in my pals’ lives.

Try out foods that I have put on the “gross” list


Status: Not started

Progress: Other than making a push to add more side salads to our meals, I haven’t stretched myself in this area. Maybe next month I’ll be able to share a tomato success story!

Learn a song on the guitar

Status: Not Started

Progress: Oops, I haven’t touched this resolution or a guitar, for that matter, all year.

Do some cheap fun house (ok apartment) décor projects


Status: Not Started

Progress: So far, I’ve forgotten to buy a yard stick to help with my hanging pictures project basically every time I go to the store. But I haven’t forgotten that this needs to be done. Whenever I do finish a project, I promise pictures are coming your way.

Continue my daily disciplines

Status: On track

Progress: I’m using an iPhone app to help with the Bible reading and good old-fashioned discipline to help with the exercising. If I’ve missed a day, it hasn’t been many.

Not as bad as I thought! Looks like a need to focus on guitar, Buster and veggies. And let’s hope I have some good job news and church updates in March. I have to admit writing out my progress has been therapeutic. You should totally try it.

2 Responses to “2011 Resolutions: February Reality Check”

  1. Michal February 2, 2011 at 2:26 am #

    I laughed when I saw the “gross foods” resolution. I made a huge deal in December about successfully eating a hamburger with pickles (which I’ve never eaten a whole one) AND a tomato… and you know what? It was delicious! I’ve crossed pickles of my do-not-consume list and have started x-ing off tomatoes. Let me know if you find any good ways to eat tomatoes.

    • alexispeters February 2, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

      Ha! I’m so glad both of us are growing. I did begin to ease my way into tomatoes last year by putting raw ones on pizza. I haven’t done it in a while, but I remember it was tasty. You should try it! Any ideas for watermelons or melons in general? Ugh.

Leave a Reply

