Nell’s Cheesy Chicken

16 Feb

Before you ask, I don’t know who Nell is. But don’t let your curiosity go wild, let me assure you that all you really need to know about her (and all that I know) is that she found a wonderful way to transform 5 ingredients into a delicious crowd-pleasing meal. I use crowd-pleasing with complete confidence for three reasons.

1. Since my college roommate gave me this recipe it has joined my honored meal rotation. Ike often requests it and, for me, that is the mark of a great recipe.

Cute, huh? This is the original document!

2. When I’ve had people over and made this dish they not only licked their plates, but also requested the recipe – another mark of a winner.

3. This recipe can be halved or doubled easily to feed a couple for two meals or a large family. In other words, you can literally feed any crowd. It is also self-contained, so it is a good choice if you are bringing a meal over to someone else’s house.

My only complaint? It’s kind of  expensive. Several of the ingredients need to be bought special just for this meal.

But by a scientific weighing of pros and cons I still think this recipe is worth a regular appearance in your meal rotation.

Now on to the instructions!

The Ingredients:

(this is the ‘couple’ serving amount, if you have a larger fam, just double it!)

1 12.5 oz. Canned Chicken Breast Meat ( I look for all white meat, but that may just be me)

1 Can Crescent Rolls

1 C Shredded Cheddar Cheese

1 Can Cream of Chicken Soup

¾ Soup Can Milk

The Action:

1. Pre-heat oven to 350

2. In a saucepan combine soup, milk and ½ Cup Cheese over medium heat. You might want to add a bit more cheese here. I would. Stir occasionally while assembling the rest of the meal. The idea is for all the cheese to melt.

3. Mix remaining cheese and drained chicken in a mixing bowl. Again, be liberal on the cheese. I won’t tell.

4. Prepare a pan. I use my small square Pyrex for Ike and me.

5. Spoon a small amount of the chicken mixture into a Crescent Roll.

6. Roll that bad boy up.

7. Repeat for the rest of the rolls.

8. Make sure all cheese has melted in your milk/cheese/soup concoction.

9. Pour delectable mixture over stuffed and rolled Crescents.

10. Bake for 25 minutes and check for golden brown rolls. You may need to add a little time depending on your oven.

11. Enjoy!  Pair with a nice spinach salad for healthy bonus points.

If you don’t eat it all, the leftovers are just as good! If you try it, I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Leave a Reply

