Mushroom Stroganoff

25 Feb

Lately I’ve been preparing more meatless dishes at home. For one, I like a good challenge; meat is such a common ingredient that it takes some kitchen ingenuity to work around its profusion in my favorite recipes. Two, it does save some money on the grocery bills. And three, unless I can buy local meat, I really have no idea where my food came from, something I’ve become more and more uncomfortable with. So last night I took one of my favorite recipes from growing up and made it meatless. My mom’s delicious Beef Stroganoff became Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff. I’d say the results were successful. As we were pushing our plates away Ike said, “Let’s make this again!” Score for the substitution. **Note, if you do want to stick with the original version, just substitute 1 pound ground beef everywhere I say Mushrooms. This is too good of a recipe to miss out on! End Note**

Ok – on to the action!

1. Prepare whatever you prefer to serve a Stroganoff over. I’ve always done rice. This time I went with brown rice. Heart healthy, right? I’ve also heard of people fixing some sort of noodles, so just let your imagination soar on this one. If you do go for rice, get that going first because especially brown rice takes a while to fix.

2. Next, rinse (do you have to rinse fungus? I didn’t know, so I did just in case) and de-gill the mushrooms. **Side Note: I’ve decided that ‘gills’ is a great name for the slimy, kind of smelly brown stuff I removed. Oops, sorry, if you were already wary of mushrooms, I’m not doing them any favors right now. End Side Note** Finally, I cut the Portobellos into bite size pieces.

3. I (well, actually my lovely assistant, Ike) then chopped half an onion in my handy dandy food processor, one of the best inventions ever.

4. Heat 4 TB butter. Don’t ask questions, just do it.

5. Saute Mushrooms and onions until onions are transparent.

6. Then add the first group of delicious seasonings. When all are added to the party, stir constantly for 5 minutes.

2 TB Flour

½ tsp salt

Pepper to taste

1 clove of garlic

7. After 5 minutes of conscientious stirring, stir in 1 can cream of chicken (yes, I notice the irony here) soup.

8. Bring to a boil, and then simmer for 10 minutes. You can mess with the timing if you are really hungry. But the longer you wait the more flavor you are likely to have. It’s all very scientific. No time to explain now.

9. Ready for 1 last ingredient? I hope so, because after you’ve simmered for 10 minutes add ½ to ¾ cup sour cream. With meat I tend to add more, but with the mushrooms I added closer to a half cup. I didn’t want the rest of the flavors to be overpowered.

10. Document where your dog was the entire time.

11. Heat the Mushroom mixture through after adding chilly sour cream.

12. Prepare a bed of whatever you decided to prepare. Then plop your delicious Stroganoff right in there.

Okay, this recipe may not win any beauty contests, but at least to the Peters family’s taste buds, this meal was beautifully delicious. With meat, I think the flavor is a bit heartier, but the mushrooms were still a very tasty option. Enjoy when you’re feeling a bit adventurous. I dare you.

2 Responses to “Mushroom Stroganoff”

  1. NicoleMt March 1, 2011 at 1:48 am #

    I love the cooking post!!!!
    I probably will not be adventurous enough to try the mushrooms….but it looks like it was a success!

    Also, I have that same food processor.

    • alexispeters March 1, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

      Thanks! It was a tasty dish, but it is just as great with 1 pound ground beef (if you aren’t the mushroom type of person, and not everyone is). And I never chop anything anymore now that I have a trusty food processor.

Leave a Reply

