Oscar Reactions

28 Feb

Well, the 83rd Academy Award ceremonies are in the can. Overall, I’d say the highlight of my night was the huge pile of two bean nachos that I made, the cool Pop Up Bowl Microwave Movie Pop Corn we discovered and the company of good friends during the show. Yes, that is my sneaky way of saying that the actual show was uneventful and not all that funny. I honestly don’t want to say bad things about the ‘appealing to a younger demographic’ hosts Anne Hathaway and James Franco. So I won’t, but I can officially skip any glowing reviews of their contributions as well. In fact, I’d venture to say that Bob Hope’s hologram did the best hosting of the night. Zing! Ok, I think I’ve dwelt quite long enough on the slanted insults section of my post. On to the goods! My reactions to the prize winners!

References for your reading convenience

1 – My Oscar Nominations and Predictions Post

2 – Official List of Oscar Winners (via Moviefone)

My Dead on Predictions

Ok, I really don’t have much to brag about in the ‘Dead on Predictions’ category. The only category I nailed was the highest acting awards. I predicted Colin Firth and Natalie Portman would take home the Oscars for both of their excellent performances. Yay for me!

My Faulty Predictions

I can’t take back that I said that this would be the year of The Social Network. Although the film took home the Best Film Editing, Best Original Score and Best Adapted Screen Play awards, it would be inaccurate to label the year as anything other than the year of The King’s Speech. But you know what? I’m totally cool with that. The inspirational film’s sweep of the Oscars will not be under my disappointments category.

My Disappointments

I really don’t have much ground to complain about the Best Documentary category, but I will say that I was disappointed that Exit through the Gift Shop didn’t win. I really enjoyed the movie; it almost inspired me to think about buying a can of spray paint and to start formulating my personal definition of what art is. Almost. I say I have no ground, because I haven’t seen the winner The Inside Job (or any of the other nominees, oops).

Now I’m most excited about…

If the marathon award show adds any value to my life, it confirms that I love movies. During the show Ike kept turning to me and saying, “Let’s watch that tonight!” when different movie clips would flash by. Of course by the end, we crawled into bed and went to sleep, but I still think that we will be watching several great movies soon. The movie I’m most excited to watch again is Inception, I haven’t seen it since the theaters and I’d love to compare my reactions and theories from my initial viewing with a re-watching session. We also plan to watch The Social Network again, and I’m itching to see The Fighter for the first time. Finally, for some reason, we were inspired to re-watch each of the extended editions of Lord of the Rings films. It is time. Oh and I may or may not have been tempted to use some of my iTunes credit to buy the soundtrack to Tangled.

Well, that’s it folks! I’d like to declare 2010 a great year for movies. The Best Picture nominations I’ve seen so far have all been enjoyable and thought provoking. Let’s hope 2011 has something better to offer than what it has so far. But it is early yet, so I bet good things are to come. Speaking of good things, anyone else excited about Super 8? Yeah, me too! Well, have a great Monday, and I’ll be back writing about something extremely intriguing tomorrow.

One Response to “Oscar Reactions”

  1. NicoleMt March 1, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    We also decided to re-watch the Lord of the Rings! Maybe we should have a viewing party in Ohio…..

    (I’ll stop commenting on all of your posts now)

Leave a Reply

