Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

1 Mar

Not to be confused with gooey and delicious Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies, these Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies are (too) delicious in their own right. I especially love this recipe because it is budget friendly. If, of course, you ignore the fact that no one really needs to make any sort of cookies. But that is not the kind of world I want to live in anyway. Back to its budget friendliness, the recipe only calls for 1 C chocolate chips, meaning you can make two entire batches from only one bag of chips. I made cookies for Ike’s band, a dinner party we had, and a housewarming gift all from the same bag of chips. Impressive? I thought so. The only complaint I have is the sheer deliciousness of both the cookies and dough. I usually make one pan of cookies then freeze the rest of the dough for later. But I could never forget that the dough was in there and it kept calling me with its sweet and seductive siren wail. But if my only complaint is that they are too delicious, I guess that isn’t so bad. And I guess I should be thankful I found and (sort of) fought one of my weaknesses. Enough talk! Are you ready to share in the Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie love? Then read on!

First off, let me give credit where it’s due. I decided to try this recipe out on a whim. As I was gathering the ingredients for traditional chocolate chip cookies, I found this delight on my flour bag and changed course in the 11th hour. It was the right choice and I thank you Gold Medal!

1. Pre-heat oven to 350.

2. Soften 1 C butter. I always forget to leave butter out to soften, so I’ve found that just 30 seconds in the microwave gives butter a great softened consistency. Softened to me means you can press it easily with your finger, but it isn’t a liquid.

3. Next add 1 ½ C brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla and 1 egg to your perfectly softened butter. Mix on medium until everything looks delightfully creamy.

4. In a separate bowl, mix the rest of the dry ingredients together. That would be 2 C oats (I actually used old fashioned oats, which I think gives baked goods a great texture. But quick oats will work too and is actually what the recipe calls for), 1 ½ flour, 1 tsp baking soda and ¼ tsp salt.

5. Gradually add oat mixture to creamed butter mixture. If you’ve got an awesome stand mixer, you can revel in the moment and do a “Look, Mom, no hands!” bit if anyone else is in the kitchen.  You can do it while you are alone too, but I’ve *heard* it is not as fun.

6. Now it is time to stop the revelry and get your serious spoon out. But no worries because your serious mood will soon be over as you can now get excited about mixing in 1 C of delicious chocolate chips.

7. Spoon out dough onto Pammed pan.

8. Bake each sheet of cookies for about 9 minutes.

9. They should look a little something like this.

10. Enjoy and share, unless you want to eat all the dough and cookies yourself. I admit it is tempting, but you are sure to regret it later.

 

Leave a Reply

