Orlando Experience III: The Real Lessons*

23 Mar

*Cue dramatic music

Originally I’d planned to spend a post on both Disney and Universal and be done with my illustrious Orlando Experience series. But a nagging feeling in my gut region urged me to write (at least) one more. And as a blogger, I’ve learned to listen to my nagging feelings. So here I go. These lessons are of a slightly more dramatic caliber than how to master Fast Pass strategies (although, really, that helps gain ultimate park enjoyment). Instead, they are overarching life lessons that kept hitting me as the week progressed. Little instances that would remind me of what’s truly important and my character flaws that need fine tuning. Yes, even I have a few character flaws. So, if you’re willing, read on to see what a week in Orlando can really teach you. Oh and yes, state of Florida, you can totally pay me for all the blog play I’m giving you if you want.

Jay waiting for the American Idol Experience to rock his world.

Patience is a virtue

The fam, waiting for the Disney Shuttle to take us to our hotel.

 

Good (crazy) times.

Waiting in lines is synonymous with an Orlando vacation. It is an element of the vacation that years and memory blur out, but believe me, it is a major component. And of course, this time it was no different for us. From our first tense line to get through security at Houston Hobby Airport (we had to run to the plane, oops) to waiting in New Orleans for our delayed flight back home, we became hurry up and wait experts. More often than I’d like to admit when faced with an especially crowded line, a tense bubble of impatience would fill my stomach and at times spill over to fill my eyes with a scowl and my mouth with a grimace (or even angry retort – ick). Standing in line with a big group of people usually made me anxious and eager to keep my sacred spot in front of the people behind me. In other words, it was not pretty. But the longer this went on, I realized that no amount of grimacing or sighing would get me through the line any faster. And even if I did have to wait longer than I would have liked, I still eventually got to the front of the line. I always got to enjoy the attraction that I wanted to, and I always had time to experience every attraction that I had my eye on. In other words, even though I had to wait for everything, eventually everything worked out. I got to soar through the stars on Space Mountain and magically fly through Hogwarts. And really, once I let go of the tension, standing in line created some of the better memories and pictures of the trip.

Good things come to those who wait

Ike and I enjoying the ferry from Magic Kingdom to Epcot.

So if I substitute waiting for ‘Space Mountain’ and insert a house or dream job, things start to get real. I mean, I can’t live my life in a constant impatient toe tapping state. I need to stop and enjoy this very moment of my life. Even if all the components I so want to be there aren’t quite in place. There is life in the waiting. And at times, I need to remind myself to take pictures, laugh and remember that everything will work out for the best.

Awaiting our delicious food at the 50s Prime Time cafe.

How is that for Orlando lessons? Pretty deep, huh? I think you should go and glean the wisdom from all those lines, too! For quickest results, try going to Via Napoli (the moderately priced Pizzeria in Epcot) on an empty stomach, little sleep and no reservations. If that doesn’t teach you something, I don’t know what will. Until tomorrow! If you can wait that long…

One Response to “Orlando Experience III: The Real Lessons*”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Heathers Mentality « Milk & Cookies - April 14, 2011

    […] it and want to go in fresh, then STOP READING NOW. If you still need a dose of me, why not read this one? Or this one? They are delightful, too. Vernoica and Heathers 1 […]

Leave a Reply

