Breakfast for Dinner? Yes, Please

25 Mar

Every once in a while, whipping up a quick batch of pancakes sounds better than whipping up anything else for dinner. Last night was one of those nights. Ike and I went over to his sister’s house to meet their fam’s newest addition, Dylan.

He's a cutie, huh?

By the time we got home, walked Buster and were ready to cook, it was after 7. (Gasp! I should turn in my pearls. Just joking I don’t have any pearls. Ike…) In other words, I had no time to start anything complex or time consuming. But I did have time to heat up the griddle, mix up a few staple ingredients and still indulge in a delectable meal. I may or may not eat pancakes nearly every Saturday morning, so you should probably trust my pancake-making prowess. I use a basic pancake recipe, but I add a couple extra touches to get as close to perfection as possible. Ready for a fun Friday recipe post? I thought so!

1. Heat and Pam the griddle. By the way, I love this thing! It has given me the opportunity to cook so many great pancakes, quesadillas and grilled sandwiches. And you’re right, it is time to end adulations about an appliance right…about…now.

2. Gather the ingredients. I’ll start with the usual.

1 egg

1 cup all-purpose flour

¾ cup milk

1 TB sugar (plus a smidge more, life needs to be a little sweeter start here)

2 TB vegetable oil

3 tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

3. If you are looking to add a little spice to your life, gather some cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla.

4. Now you can start the action. Beat the egg until it’s fluffy, like so.

5. Now just add everything else. As for the cinnamon and nutmeg, add a couple shakes of each. Not scientific enough for you? I’m sorry! But trust me; it’s hard to go terribly wrong with these delicious additions. Oh, but I do have a measurement for the vanilla! About ½ tsp – 1 tsp should do it. The final concoction should be completely mixed, but a couple lumps are ok.

6. Next, find the pouring method that works best for you. I use a ¼ cup measuring…cup. Works like a charm!

7. When the pancakes start to get bubbly, turn those bad boys over.

8. Cook for a minute or so on the other side. Deliver piping hot cakes to ready plate. Liberally dollop with butter, and watch for droll.

9. Pair with your favorite syrup or topping (peanut butter, anyone?) and cold glass of milk or a mug of decaf and enjoy.

Breakfast for dinner is a fast, easy and economical option for those nights when you meet your sis’s new dog or for any “I’m running late and I want food but I don’t have time to cook a big meal” kind of evening. Enjoy your weekend! I’ll be back Monday.

Leave a Reply

