Quotable Movies

28 Mar

Most families have certain movies that seep into their daily colloquial. Quotes and allusions from watched and re-watched films that gain heightened meaning after being repeatedly used as a punch line in family jokes. My family growing up and my current little family are no different. We wrap ourselves in the quotes of these movies like a familiar blanket, both warm and comforting. And this warming and comforting imagery is perfect for this (at least in Little Rock) non-Spring day. When threatening clouds and shrill winds have overtaken the sun’s expected place in the late March sky. So, in other words, to brighten your Monday, here are some of the movies and their best lines that make me laugh both because they are funny and because of the context I’ve heard them used in my family circle. Enjoy! And I hope you can be warmed by your own memories of your family’s most quotable movies.

The Gentry’s Classic Quotables

Big Business


Big Business is a 1988 comedy about 2 identical sets of twins mixed up at birth played by Lily Tomlin and Bette Midler. A ‘study’ in nature over nurture or maybe a modern Country Mouse and City Mouse scenario, (kind of), as one set of twins truly belongs in the country while the other belongs in New York City. Everything gets crazy during one weekend when fate brings them all to the same hotel. Watch it if you have time, I promise it won’t be a total waste of your life. Ready for some of the best quotes? You’ve got it, dude.

You’re in America now. Speak American.

Hi everyone – I’m fine. Had a good breakfast – oatmeal, but I guess you knew that. Got on my Tuesday panties, but I guess you knew that too.

The meetin’? Why you worried bout the meetin’?

Three Amigos

We also love another great 80s comedy, Three Amigos. A story about three (not so bright) silent movie stars played by Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short. After suddenly losing their Three Amigos contract, they accept an invitation to go down to Mexico to ‘put on a show’ against the ‘infamous’ El Guapo. What they think will be a routine live performance with an ultra-famous Mexican star turns out to be a very real battle for their lives. A funny premise supported by funny performances, and of course, hilarious quotes. Here are some of our favorites.

In-famous is when you’re MORE than famous. This man El Guapo, he’s not just famous, he’s IN-famous.

Mr. Flugelman: Do you know what “nada” means?
Dusty Bottoms: Isn’t that a light chicken gravy?

El Guapo: Well, you told me I have a plethora. And I just would like to know if you know what a plethora is. I would not like to think that a person would tell someone he has a plethora, and then find out that that person has *no idea* what it means to have a plethora.
Jefe: Forgive me, El Guapo. I know that I, Jefe, do not have your superior intellect and education. But could it be that once again, you are angry at something else, and are looking to take it out on me?

Ned Nederlander: Tell us we will die like dogs.
El Guapo: Eh?
Ned Nederlander: Tell us we will die like dogs.
El Guapo: You *will* die like dogs.

That’s it for the Gentry’s quotables, although that isn’t nearly all the movies we love to reference. What About Bob’s ‘baby stepping’ motif, and even more recently Napoleon Dynamite (you’re ruining our lives and you ate all the steak) and Elf (I’m singing, I’m in a store and I’m singing) have entered our family vocabulary. Very fun and funny stuff.

The Peters’ New Quotables

You’ve Got Mail

This is an extremely quotable movie starring two lovable leads, Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks. In this romantic comedy, Ryan and Hanks simultaneously form a fierce business competition and an anonymous whirlwind email-based romance. Who can’t get enough of that? Not me!

I… can’t help myself.

Matthew Fox: F-O-X.
Kathleen Kelly: That is amazing, you can spell “fox!” Can you spell “dog?”
Matthew Fox: F-O-X.

I’m going to go buy some eucalyptus candles because they make my apartment smell MOSSY!

Star Wars

And finally, I will admit that Ike and I sometimes catch ourselves quoting the Star Wars trilogy. If I have to explain this epic galactic battle in a galaxy far, far away to you, I feel all is lost. So I’m going to jump right in with the quotes!

Do or do not… there is no try

He is TOO OLD. Yes, too old to begin the training

And I thought they smelled bad…on the outside

Leia: I love you.

Han: I know

Well, ok! That is enough (dork exposure) for today! I hope your Monday treats you well, and that you find time to watch a great nostalgic movie sometime soon.

One Response to “Quotable Movies”

  1. thriftymom March 28, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Wow, I love those movies!!! Definitely full of a plethora of quotable quotes!!!

Leave a Reply

