2011 Resolutions: April Reality Check

1 Apr

I’M PREGNANT….with anticipation of the great things that will happen this month.

Haha, you’ve just been subjected to the easiest prank known to women, the old fake pregnancy announcement. I’m sorry, but that’s all you’re going to get as far as April Fools’ Day is concerned on this blog.

But you will get a quick April Update on my 2011 Resolutions. March came and passed by swiftly for me. It has been filled not only with vacation, but apparently a lot of breakfast food (example 1 , example 2). Ok, ready to see what else I’ve been up to in March? Then read on and try to have a great Friday while you are at it.

Reading References:
Original Resolution PostFebruary Reality Check & March Reality Check

Ahead of Schedule Resolutions:

Read at least 1 novel per month: Predictably it was another two-novel month. I read The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood, and I really enjoyed this funny, mind-bending but at times harrowing futuristic novel if anything more than the first book, Oryx and Crake. Will I finish out the trilogy when the next one comes out? YES. I also devoured a book by a new author for me, Michael Chabon’s The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. This book not only depicts the birth of the comic book, but also offers an engrossing glimpse into pre-WWII New York City. And that doesn’t even begin to cover all the human experience it shares. Intrigued? I thought so.

Keep in touch with my college pals: Last month I reported that I knew the weekend of the reunion, and this month I am happy to share that plane tickets have been bought, work has been taken off and everyone is in and staying at my apartment for a wonderful weekend reunion. I jokingly wrote to the girls that I’m anticipating the weekend like I anticipated Christmas as a kid, and one wrote back that it WILL be better than Christmas. I sure hope so!

Continue my daily disciplines: Still reading the Bible and working out at least 5 days a week. Check and check.

Close to completion, but not quite

The actual house we, um, crashed.

Do some cheap fun house (ok apartment) décor projects: Still haven’t hung those pictures. I’m getting annoyed with myself! So is Buster. The picture I had propped on the back of the couch fell on him and totally freaked him out. If that’s not motivation, I don’t know what is.

Teach Buster a new trick: Still walking, walking & walking. But I do have a new Buster project: I recently learned that his breed, Cairn Terrier, should be stripped regularly (all dead hair pulled out) and given alcohol sponge baths instead of water baths (oh yeah). Both strategies cut down smelliness. So if I could get Buster to be non-smelly, that would be his best trick to date. When spring decides to stay in AR full time (this is definitely an outside activity), I’ll get right to work.

Find a church home in Little Rock: We are still deciding! I’ll report when we make our official decision!

Find a way to generate income while doing work I love: I feel so blessed in this category. I’ve gotten the chance to meet with so many great Little Rock folks. I honestly feel like the job is close, but if I’ve learned anything in my job searching state, it is that patience is crucial.

Continue saving for a house down payment: Well, Ike and I stumbled upon a new strategy for house hunting. Last night we decided to drive by a house we found online that caught our eye. When we passed the house, there were cars in the driveway, an Open House sign in the yard, and people milling around inside. We decided to go for it! As we walked in the door, we were greeted by a lot of confusion. We soon found out that the Open House was on Sunday and we had walked in on a private showing! Embarrassing (but we still walked through the house). So we are now (possibly the first) house showing crashers! Or we could go with our original plan of finding a Realtor. That is my official assignment for April. We’ll see how that goes.

Try out foods that I have put on the “gross” list: I have generally stopped asking for ‘no tomatoes’ when I order things! I’m so proud. Melons are still on the so-so list. I tried one, and one bite was all I could handle. However, Ike assured me that I have to try ‘a good one’ before I completely swear them off.

Resolutions that haven’t left the idealist page yet.

My first song may be a She and Him tune. We'll see!

Learn a song on the guitar: I still really want to do this! But I haven’t even touched a guitar all month. Bad Alexis.

So that was March! A windy, rainy month filled with some progress, an awesome vacation and awkward house searching moments. Thanks for reading today, and I hope you don’t get pranked too badly on this fine April Fools’ Day. Until Monday!

.

Leave a Reply

