No Bake Peanut Butter Cookies

7 Apr

This weekend I made a sweet discovery. Before seeing the Lincoln Lawyer (click here for my review, you know you want to), we swung by the original Peters’ house (aka the delightful in-laws). There they offered me a cookie that rocked my world (you probably guessed it with a little help from the title but I’ll insert this overly long aside to add a little drama…and maybe a couple excessive ellipses… ok fine, I’m ready to reveal them now), No Bake Peanut Butter Cookies! After one taste, I knew I had to try my hand at them. As an ardent lover of Chocolate Oatmeal cookies, this Peanut Butter version is a welcome addition to my no bake arsenal. So I went to ‘the Google,’ found a recipe, tweaked it a little bit and now I present to you a delicious option for an afternoon snack, a church get together, a baby shower or just because you need something sweet NOW kind of moment. Enjoy! And make these ASAP.

Here is my inspiration recipe. I halved it and made a few other adjustments, you’ll just have to read on to see!

Here is another version that I found later. I think using brown sugar could be really interesting! I may just try that someday, and because I’m nice I decided to give you options. We live in a free to make any kind of cookie you want country. Thank goodness!

Now onto the fun!

The Players

1 C Sugar

½ Stick Butter

¼ C Milk

Dash o’ Salt

1 tsp vanilla

¼ C Peanut Butter

1 ½ C Oatmeal

The Action

1. Combine sugar, butter, milk and a dash o’ salt in a medium sauce pan.

2. Take time to gather and measure out the second phase of ingredients, the vanilla, peanut butter and oatmeal. Believe me this will help when you have your hands full stirring.

3. And if you want overachiever points, get out a sheet of wax paper. With no bake cookies, time is of the essence, so go ahead and reach for the gold star.

4. Now, on with the show. Bring the sugar mixture to a boil. When whipping up No Bake masterpieces, I usually take my time and heat over medium-high heat rather than super high heat. I may just be superstitious, but I think it yields better results.

5. Once you hit the boiling point, turn off heat, but leave the saucepan on burner. Stir constantly for 3 minutes. Oh and by the way, if you mess up this step, your cookies will be awful. Take it from someone who’s lived.

(See how this is blurry? It represents my earnest stirring efforts)

6.  Take pan off burner. This is another deal breaker step. So don’t forget it if you actually want to eat your cookies.

7. Now add the second phase ingredients! Aren’t you glad you had them all measured out?

8. Of course, at this point you stir like crazy. Coat those oats with sugary peanut butter goodness!

9. Now I usually eat no bake warm and gooey, but I decided to let them dry this time (life is all about variety, right?). If you are going with this method, plop the mixture by the spoonful on prepared wax paper. Gold star if it is already in place at this point!

10. Once dry, store them in an airtight manner. You can take pictures of them first if you want to, I did.

And that folks, is how to make No Bake Peanut Butter Cookies! I hope you get the chance to try them soon! Have a great Thursday!

Leave a Reply

