Cookie Cake Tips

22 Apr

Hey there. I hope you know I want the best for you. I want you to be happy, to have lots of friends and to enjoy a healthy serving of sweet stuff in life. That’s why I’m sharing my cookie cake tips. Why? Cookie cakes are an easy way to impress friends and earn baking glory among new acquaintances. They are the quintessential complement to birthday parties or cook outs. You need this skill. You never know when it might come in handy. So, for your own good, you better continue reading!

First off, pick your favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. You could even go the ‘easy route’ and grab a tube of the pre-made stuff. I won’t judge you. I did it for years. If this is you, go straight to step 8, do not collect $200. But now, I stick with the Nestle recipe. It is tried and true.

Here’s a quick how-to for their delish recipe.

1. Preheat oven to 375.

2. Soften 2 sticks butter.

3. Beat in the sugars, ¾ C of both white and brown sugar.

4. Next add 1 tsp vanilla and 2 eggs. Add the eggs 1 at a time. Beat them to a pulp.

5. Combine 2 ¼ C all-purpose flour, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp salt in small bowl. If using self-rising flour, skip the soda and the salt. Options, options, that’s what life is about.

6. Gradually add the flour mixture to your sugary butter mixture.

7. Finally add the chocolate!! 1 ¾ C morsels to be exact. Chocolate is one of my favorite substances. And yes, that fact was free of charge!

8. Welcome back, pre-made dough peeps. Here is my hard learned cookie cake tip; I have the horrid memories of burned dough smell/mess to prove it. You ready? As tempting as it is to fill up your cookie pan, don’t even think about it. You MUST leave at least a 1 inch to 1 ½ space between dough coast and pan edge.  Like so. Believe me. This is the secret to cookie cake happiness.

9. Bake for about 13 – 15 minutes or until it reaches the gooey or hard consistency you prefer. I’m a gooey cookie person, but I have learned to accept the hard cookie people of the world. So follow your heart.

Here’s the beautiful masterpiece you have to look forward to.

Now I’m of the school that it isn’t a true cookie cake unless it is covered in a generous slathering of icing. If you share my beliefs, read on. You can make this dark chocolate icing as the cake is a-bakin’.

I base this recipe off the Hershey’s take on icing. And predictably they have great icing ideas.

Here are the icing players

I like to call them the dream team.

1. Melt 1 stick butter. I did this on the stovetop, the microwave method will work just fine too!

2. Add 2/3 cup dark chocolate cocoa. Yum. Again, I love the chocolate.

3. Now you add a smidge of 1/3 C milk and then a smidge of 3 C powdered sugar. Continue alternating until all components are added. Keep stirring until you reach drizzly perfection.

4. Last, but not least, add 1 tsp vanilla.

5. Spread on cake when it has cooled a little bit.

6. If you want to get festive, you can use any extra dough to make regularly sized cookies. Then decorate the cake accordingly. I made this beauty for Ike’s b-day last November. If you have extra icing, it works great as an ice cream topping. Just a thought.

Well, I hope you can use these recipes and tips sometime soon! Maybe this weekend? By the way, have a good one!

3 Responses to “Cookie Cake Tips”

  1. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies April 23, 2011 at 5:06 am #

    Yum, I’d want a big piece of that. I just made a batch of blueberry muffins too. These look yummy. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cookie cake up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/04/sweets-for-saturday-14_22.html

  2. Michal April 24, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    Yum! I just made some home-made Caramel-de-lites (aka samoas) and they were delish, but really difficult. I think next time, I’ll take the cookie cake approach.

    http://madison.craigslist.org/spo/2325215991.html

    • alexispeters April 25, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

      Um, those sound amazing! I may NEED that recipe. And yeah, I think the cookie cake method would work for just about any dough. I may try a sugar cookie cake with powered sugar frosting next.

Leave a Reply

