Weekend Project

25 Apr

This last Saturday, Ike and I finally tackled one of my long-plotted décor projects. About five months ago, my mom and I recovered my chairs in three coordinating fabrics. See below.

I just can’t get away from the green and blue family. I guess they are my family now.

So Ike and I thought it would be a good idea to cover an extra canvas we had with the excess fabric. You know; create a wall hanging that ties all the patterns and colors together. This weekend, armed with a heavy-duty staple gun, scissors, fabric and a  canvas we mis-painted nearly three years ago, we embarked on an easy weekend project adventure.

This canvas was just asking to be convered.

I hope that our idea and creative process will inspire you to use what you have around your house to make something new and b-e-a-utiful! Read on to see how we created our custom wall hanging.

1. Gather the supplies. The only special ‘ingredient’ you need is a stapler that can handle wood. Other than that, you can use whatever canvas and fabrics your heart desires. Again, scissors may be helpful, too.

2. Take some time to brainstorm, arrange the fabric in different ways before you commit to heavy-duty stapling it the canvas. If you do make a mistake, we found the staples weren’t too hard to remove. But still, take a moment to develop your vision.

3. We decided to make one fabric our foundational background. If you are going for a layered effect, I would too. Here’s the drill.

Wrap the fabric so it just covers the canvas’s wooden frame. Pull it tight, so the fabric isn’t wrinkled.

4. Cut away excess fabric along all the sides and corners.

5. Finally, you get to use the power(ish) tool! Pull the fabric tight so it’s not wrinkled or bunchy. Then, staple the fabric to the canvas frame to your heart’s content.

And that’s that!

6. Add other fabrics to your creation. We went for a minimalist strip design. In other words, we landed on the easiest arrangement. Hey, it was our first covered wall hanging attempt, so give us a break!

So, we added a wide band of our next fabric as Buster watched breathlessly from the sidelines. Actually. Buster took offence to the stapler’s sounds, big surprise.

Then, we added a narrower band of the next fabric. Notice I haven’t mentioned any measurements. That’s because we just eyeballed everything. I wouldn’t say the final result is perfect, but it feels just about right. You can, of course, measure and cut things proportionally. It is your Saturday morning.

The final product! Behold the result of leftover/reused supplies and 30 minutes of work.

I hope Monday is treating you well! I wish you the best of luck on any outlying décor projects on your queue. Next up for me? A picture collage in the study. I’ll let you in on the details when I finally get around to that one. See you tomorrow!

2 Responses to “Weekend Project”

  1. thriftymom April 25, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    What a great idea! It also looks easy and economical. I like it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2011 Resolutions: May Reality Check « Milk & Cookies - May 2, 2011

    […] My pictures are finally up and I did a fun project. […]

Leave a Reply

