2011 Resolutions: May Reality Check

2 May

So far, April showers have only brought cold and rainy May days. But I’m not going to rule out May yet, because that’s just the kind of girl I am. Generous.

Anyway, overall April was a good month. It flew by in a whirl of social activities (sushi night!), a family Easter visit and Buster cuddles. But like the intermittent stormy weather, my resolution progress had its good days and bad ones. Ready for the report? I am. I’m also ready to hit May hard. It’s going to be a good, if not busy, one.

My mom and bro in for a visit. Yes, he is really tall.

Reading References:

Original Resolution PostFebruary Reality CheckMarch Reality Check & April Reality Check

Forward Progress Report:

Read at least 1 novel per month:

Look how impressively far my bookmark is.

No completed novels to report. Instead, I’m 420 pages into Fyodor Dostoevsky’s The Brothers Karamozov, my Russian novel for the year. I will hold off my review until I vanquish (that’s what you do to long Russian works) the book. But so far, it is an entertaining look into 19th century Russian society and human nature in general. I know, I know, that teaser only got .01 of you interested. But if you have a weakness for Russian lit, this is a good one. With that, I’m probably still not gaining any readers for ol’ Dostoevsky. Sorry, bud. I tried.

Keep in touch with my college pals:

My friends will be here in less than 2 weeks! **Happy dance session** I already have Pioneer Woman cinnamon rolls waiting for them in the freezer. If you don’t think that is love, you’ve never tried her recipe. It is divine.

Continue my daily disciplines:

Still reading the Bible and working out at least 5 days a week. I plan to move on to level 2 of “Ripped in 30” soon. I’ll let you know how that goes. I expect lots of pain.

Do some cheap, fun house (ok apartment) décor projects:

Finally, my pictures are up.

I don’t care if this sounds brag-y, but I did well this month!

My pictures are finally up and I did a fun project.

I do want to work on the empty space above the couch in my study/guest room. At my project rate, this should be done by December.

Teach Buster a new trick:

Good thing I don't have to teach him to be cute. Haha. Right?

Well, I think my Buster resolution has broadened. I would no longer be satisfied with a few new tricks. I want rehabilitation. So we’ve hired professional dog trainers, See Spot Sit, to help our furry mess. Also, he has learned the “Leave it!” command this month. It’s not a cute trick, but it is useful. Our first official session got rained out yesterday, but we should have one later this week. I’ll keep you updated.

Try out foods that I have put on the “gross” list:

Let the record show that I tried cantaloupe and watermelon this month. The fact that I almost gagged should not be held against me. I’m still holding out for the elusive ‘good one’ that will cause me to love all melons. If you have one, let me know and I’ll come and try it.

Learn a song on the guitar:

I finally started this one! I’ve added a 20 – 30 minute guitar session to most of my days. I don’t know a song yet, but I have learned 9 chords and earned some finger calluses. If you knew my skills before, you’d be very impressed. A song can’t be far off.

Close to completion, but not quite

Find a church home in Little Rock:

We have been regularly visiting the same church since late March; we are enjoying getting to know the other young couples there. But we haven’t officially placed membership. Stay tuned.

Find a way to generate income while doing work I love:


I’m still strengthening those important, but at times pesky, patience muscles. I’ve also learned that a “no” clears the path for the right “yes.” That’s a toughie. But I did get something tangible and fashion forward from my search this month, a new gray high-waist pencil skirt and matching jacket from Express. I can’t wait to wear it!

Continue saving for a house down payment:

I did find a realtor I liked at an open house this month. But for the past few weeks, Ike and I have cooled our house search. We’ve done enough groundwork to know the areas we’d be interested to live in and the kind of features we are looking for in our first home. The only step we have left is house hunting with an agent, and I’m not quite sure we are ready for that step. We’ll see how we feel closer to the end of our lease in December.

Resolutions that haven’t left the idealist page yet.

None! Oh yeah.

This month I’m looking forward to a friend reunion, Buster rehabilitation action, finally seeing Beauty and the Beast the play (a dream!) and (fingers crossed) sunny spring days. I hope your May is sunny too.

Leave a Reply

