Summer Movie Anticipation

3 May

It’s about that time. School is almost out which means action-packed, explosion-filled, escapist movies are about to fill the theaters. Oh yeah. We’ve enjoyed (or endured?) a rather chilly spring in Little Rock, so I’m anticipating the summer, and its big, loud, flashy movies. Honestly, I’m not so sure about the plethora of super hero movies teaming up to fill the screens. In my defense, I loved the first X-Men movie and enjoyed Iron Man, but enough is enough, right? And of course, I cringe at the seemingly unnecessary sequels slated for release. Mission Impossible 4? Fast 5? Spy Kids 4? Pirates of the Caribbean 100? I think I’ll sit back and wait for reviews for those. But there are four movies I am looking forward to, and hey, I even included a sequel. So sit back, relax, and enjoy my summer movies must-see list. Get excited. They are coming soon to a theater near you.

Click on any title that intrigues you; I’ve linked to all the official movie sites. You’re welcome.

Super 8 – June 10th

I’ve mentioned this one several times in the blog before. But that’s because I am excited about it. And oh, do I have reasons for my excitement.

1. The creative dream team behind it – Steven Spielberg and JJ Abrams. I feel like that can’t go wrong.

2. As a faithful Friday Night Lights fan, I’m excited to see beloved ‘Coach Taylor’ (Kyle Chandler) on the big screen.

3. The premise is tantalizing. It is reminiscent of classic Spielberg sci-fi masterpieces sprinkled with family issues like E.T. and Close Encounters, need I say more?

4. Plus, the viral campaign leading up to the movie has built up a Lost-worthy curiosity in my brain. Please see this weird website if you too want to be intrigued http://www.scariestthingieversaw.com/.

Cars 2 – June 24th

I love Pixar. But I have to admit, Cars was not my favorite movie of theirs. But, the possibility for heartfelt animation is too strong for me to sit this one out. I’ve seen all the studio’s movies and even if several haven’t hit me in the emotional jaw like Up or Monster’s Inc, they still impressed me on some level. So yes, I’ll join the children of America to see this one.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 – July 15th

I don’t think of myself as a Potter-head. But I have read all the books, seen all the movies and even been to Harry Potter world in Universal Studies. I guess I’ll put it this way: I’m a fan, but I’m not going to dress up for a midnight showing.  Deathly Hallows Part I was a great movie, and there’s no way I can miss the conclusion to this series. I may just have to wait a while for the true Potter-heads to clear out of the theaters.

Cowboys & Aliens – July 29th

You can judge me if you want to, but I think this movie looks interesting. Yes, I may have joined the laughing masses at an early trailer as the unexpected and somewhat campy movie title flashed on the screen, but my curiosity again, has got the better of me. I’m interested to see a melding of the great American Western and Sci-Fi. Plus, who doesn’t want to see Harrison Ford play a scruffy old cowboy? I do, I do!

To me, the summer movie is an important component of the season’s vacation-like feel. So take a break from all the busyness and indulge in a good, fun movie.

That’s it for today! Have a great Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

