Ripped in 30 Level Tough, I mean Three

18 May

Yesterday, I recapped my weekend with my best college pals. Read it here! (Oops, that’s my one shameless, self-serving plug for at least this paragraph. I promise.) One essential ingredient to a successful girls’ weekend that I failed to mention is food. We took that element very seriously. My favorite food exploits of the weekend were make-your-own-pizza night with homemade dough, marinara and an assortment of toppings, cheese dip from Dizzy’s, chicken strips from Sticky Fingers and Peanut Butter Puddle ice cream from Bruster’s. As you can see, I enjoyed myself. But I also just shared my food diary to emphasize how eager I was to get back to Jillian’s pain train bright and early Monday morning. And even with all the eating and eating and eating, I decided (impulsively) to move up to level three on Jillian Michael’s Ripped in 30. Read on to see how I fared (suffered).

Strength = Focused Pain

They may be cute, but it hurts to walk like them.

This time, Jillian comes up with an even more maniacal way to rip my arms and legs to more toned versions of themselves. Ouch. During two of the circuits, the strength moves are focused on just one muscle set.

The first muscle group was the lower body. My poor little legs felt like they were on fire after exercising (enduring) for three minutes with moves like bear crawl and duck walk. If you haven’t duck walked since you were a kid, there are a lot of reasons (other than that it looks ridiculous) that adults don’t do it. It is hard and it hurts.

The last circuit hits the arms repeatedly with moves like pike pushups and table lowers. My arms were not used to that kind of treatment. I can barely type now. But Jillian promises that I’ll look great in tanks, and for that I will push (struggle) on.

Cardio = Tough, but Doable

Thankfully, her obsession with plank position died down for this work out. All cardio is standing this time, which actually makes this section easier to me than level two. But it is not actually easy in any sense of human comprehension. This time, she employs what she calls ‘peripheral heart action’ (switching from lower to upper body moves), which sends my heart rate through the roof. But even with all the huffing and puffing, I’m still so glad it isn’t a plank move and push through.

Inspiration

I also sometimes get inspired by sunsets. So sue me.

Finally, here is my favorite part about Jillian: the positive messages.  In level three, she is tough but encouraging. Saying things like, “You can do anything for 20 minutes,” which I can admit that helped push me through some horrible jumping moves. She’s right, though. I have the ability to push it hard! KARATE CHOP! She also talks about giving the workout and in extension, life, all I’ve got. This, again, proves to me that I can bring my Jillian workout intensity and focus to all my daily activities. But my favorite Jillian thought from level three goes something like this: “Transformation is not a future event.” I like that thought. And it is less corny than my college club’s motto which was “A journey of 1000 miles begins with a single step.” (gags self) But both images prove that I can’t wait for change. I need to take action. And mottos like that stored in my brain can only help when physical or emotional fatigue sets in. Don’t quit, keep going, what I’m doing today will bring me closer to where I want to be.

That’s an English major for you. I parse all that out of a 20 minute workout. I hope you have a great Wednesday, and (at the risk of pure cheesiness) remember that transformation is not a future event. See ya tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

