Thankful Thursday

19 May

Today I am happy. This contentment, this happy feeling reminds me that I’ve got so much to be thankful for in my life. I didn’t become this (delightful) version of Alexis without a lot (read: TONS) of help. Prayer, hours of people listening, encouragement out the wazoo, and unconditional acceptance from friends and family all shaped me. I’m certainly not done being formed, but I think it is a good practice to stop every once in a while and take inventory of the good stuff.  Read below for a shout out to the people (and animals) that make me smile the most.

Ike

Ike is my favorite person. No contest. (Don’t worry; I have a lot of love to go around.) We balance each other out. I help him stay focused a little bit more and he helps me keep my cool and learn to relax. Marriage, in general, has taught me to not let the little things bother me and has increased my patience (in a good way). I can’t imagine my life without him. I’m sorry if that is a cliché, but it is true!

Our families

I was blessed with encouraging parents and great siblings. We laugh a lot and know each other all too well. I love that my parents believe I can do anything, it is a good motivator. They are the best, and I can never repay them for all they have done. That, by the way is not a cliché. It is just true.

Another good thing about marriage is the family I’ve gained. Ike’s parents are also wonderful and endlessly interesting (read: quirky, again, in a great way). I also love that I’ve gained two sisters and two brothers and gotten to be an aunt to three cute (and crazy) kids.

Friends

I know I’ve talked about this one a lot, but the girls from Harding are an important support system in my life. I can laugh hard and share tough stuff with these ladies. It is important to keep girls in my life. Ike and I have also been blessed with some new relationships in Arkansas. We are starting to feel at home here, and the people we have met are a big part of that.

Buster

I know, I know, he’s a furry little animal. But I’ve learned so much more than I thought possible from that little guy. He is a patience lesson wrapped in a cuddly package. I’ve had to learn how to address his quirks in a loving way. Through that, I’ve grown. And I feel that Buster still has more to offer up his furry little sleeve. I just know it.

I know it sounds cheesy, but take some time for a thankful inventory today. You’ll be glad that you did.

One Response to “Thankful Thursday”

  1. Amber May 19, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    This post made me most happy.

Leave a Reply

