The Big Announcement!

20 May

My job search is finally at an end! I’m excited to announce that I have accepted Dillard’s offer to be a Web Editorial Writer at their corporate headquarters.

**Insert happy dance here! Raising the roof, Cabbage Patch and the Running Man are all more than welcome**

Read on for details and gratitude!

Honestly, my search was a longer than expected journey, with more ups and downs than I would have personally added. I had 10 interviews and 3 second interviews for goodness sake! But I knew that I wanted to hold out for a writing position. And preferably one where I got to write in a style and subject that interested me. Plus, my resume had a lot of potential (according to me) but not a lot of paid writing experience (according to the facts). So I knew I would have to wait to find someone who was willing to take a chance on an eager, young, delightful (too far?) writer. And thankfully I finally did!

But I think I needed that time and the overall experience to learn how to be happy without everything I wanted all lined up. I learned (slowly) not to base happiness on circumstances, but on a solid foundation of faith, thankfulness and trust that no matter what happens, I can learn and grow from an experience. And that is an important lesson. I hope I can carry that on to the next ‘big thing’ that I want and don’t have yet. I have to or else my life will become one long impatient waiting game. Ick. That is not what I want.

And I’d like to thank everyone who helped me out. Everyone who was willing to meet with me, willing to give me job searching tips, willing to pass my resume along and of course willing to listen to and encourage me. I literally couldn’t have done this alone!

If you are curious, this isn’t goodbye! I still plan on blogging regularly. But I can’t promise a daily post. In fact, next week I plan on sharing some things I learned during the job searching process for all my fellow hard working job searchers out there. It is going to be a riot, so don’t miss it.

The Mexican food place I want to try out.

I insist everyone have a great weekend. Eat Mexican food, shop and have a Buster training session. Oh wait, that might be specific to me. I bet you could find something fun that fits your lifestyle! At the very least, try to be happy where you are today.

Until Monday!

3 Responses to “The Big Announcement!”

  1. thriftymom May 20, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you.

  2. David Condolora May 20, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    Congratulations!! This is awesome news. And your post has helped me be more content and determined to enjoy every step of the journey. Thanks!

  3. Michal May 21, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Hurrah! I’m very happy and relieved for you. I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

