Beauty and the Beast*

26 May

*The magical song and dance-filled musical extravaganza version

Although “Belle,” “Something There” and “Beauty and the Beast” have been stuck in my head since Tuesday, finally seeing the musical version of one of my favorite Disney classics was completely worth it. Sure I have my critiques, but overall Ike and I had a great night at the theater, as did the other 2,000 or so adult and kiddos, including several mini-Belles, that filled the Robinson Auditorium. If you’ve never seen the show and it’s coming to a town near you, gather the fam and go! I doubt you will regret “Being their guest.”

If I apologize for the poor allusion, will you read on? Thanks!

The Robinson Center was a great venue.

The Beastly

Ok, I do have my critiques, but think of them more as friendly warnings than reasons to shun the show.

Over-Acting No Brained Girls

Madame de la Grande Bouche screeched me to my wit's end.

Ok, every woman in the show other than Belle and Mrs. Potts is a screechy, fainting, over-acting, attention-hog kind of girl. From the “Silly girls” who fawn over Gaston, to “Babette,” the feather duster, who flirts with even Maurice (yes, you read that right), to Madame de la Grande Bouche, the enchanted wardrobe and former opera diva (enough said). The screaming and sighing got a little old in my opinion.

Scary? Boring? Beast

If you do take your kids, I could tell a few were scared of the Beast during his first rather growly appearances on the stage.

Then he has two lack-luster songs that drag down momentum of the show. Ike heard one kid say, “I want to go home,” during one of them, and Ike may have closed his eyes for an extended time during another.

The Beautiful

I couldn't resist placing our picture under such an apt heading.

But overall, I think the good and fun outweigh the bad.

“Gaston” and “Be Our Guest”

"Be Our Guest" was wonderful.

If you go to the show, the dazzling dancing numbers in “Gaston” and “Be Our Guest” makes the whole experience worth it. I won’t ruin it for you, but just be ready for some great rhythmic uses of beer mugs and to be overwhelmed by spinning flatware (in a good way). I definitely got goose bumps during both of them!

Belle and Gaston

Although I didn’t enjoy Beast’s character as much as his movie manifestation, I think Belle and Gaston came alive very well on the stage.  At least in this tour, their singing was right on and they didn’t overdo their characters. Belle, especially, was the perfect dreamer, turned realist, turned princess, and she got the biggest applause at our show.

I promise there is more to love, like the great love story and the more likable enchanted objects like Lumiere and Cogsworth.

But don’t take my word for it! Anyone? Reading Rainbow?

Wow, I can’t believe it is already Thursday and almost June on top of that. Have a good one! I’ll be back tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

