2011 Resolutions: June Reality Check

6 Jun

I hope you all forgive me for taking a week off from blogging. My first week back in full time work land was good, but to be honest, exhausting. I came back from my first day, filled both with the satisfaction of finding a great job and the desire to lie on the couch for the rest of the night. And I did. Sweet Ike made dinner. I think I managed to feed myself, but barely. I say all this as an excuse and an explanation. I will keep blogging, but right now I plan to scale back to 2 or 3 posts per week. Can you handle that?  I hope so! For now, please sit back and enjoy my June update.

Reading References:

Original Resolution PostFebruary Reality CheckMarch Reality Check  April Reality Check & May Reality Check

Completed (!) Goals

Find a way to generate income while doing work I love:

DONE! Here’s my “I got a writing job at Dillard’s” announcement. I know I have a lot to learn but I think I’m really going to enjoy the work. I am working on staying positive and thankful as I learn the job. I think I can, I think I can.

Keep in touch with my college pals:

Friends push me to make daring choices.

If you missed it, here’s the recap of my girls’ weekend. I really enjoyed my time with them. It confirmed the importance of true friendship in my life. Enough said. I guess it also confirmed that making an effort to keep these girls in my life is a worthy goal. So, 2012 (and beyond!) will carry the same goal.

Forward Progress Report:

Read at least 1 novel per month:

DONE!

I finished Fyodor Dostoevsky’s The Brothers Karamozov, my Russian novel for the year. That’s all I really need to say to either impress or bore most of you. But I finished it, enjoyed it, and I’m proud. Dostoevsky shares the voices of Russia from the children to the monks through a murder mystery. Fascinating stuff! But it’s not for the casual reader. You’ve got to be committed to make it through some of those chapters, baby. I’m working on a great Cormac McCarthy novel right now; I’ll share the gruesome details with you next month. Be prepared. Be excited.

Continue my daily disciplines:

I’m actually going to have to work harder to keep up my workout schedule. When I was a pro-job searcher, I usually worked out at 10:30 a.m. I loved working out right before lunch. That’s a little tough as a full time employee. So I’m trying to be disciplined and work out right when I get home. It is tough, but I think I can stick with it. What can I say? I’m addicted to being yelled at by Jillian. By the way, I finally progressed to Level 4 of Ripped in 30, so look for the recap soon!

Teach Buster a new trick:

Buster is still in training mode. He learned “belly” and I think if we can get him to stay in that position, we could turn it into a cute “play dead” move. But for now, I really want him to be cool around other dogs. I’ll give you a detailed update soon! I’ll just say he’s had a rollercoaster progress of success and failure, but we are basically still moving forward.

Learn a song on the guitar:

I’m still doing well! I know 14 chords, and I’ve perfected 13 of them. I’m trying to learn Flume by Bon Iver. It is very chill and singer/songwriter-y. I just need to get the hang of that 14th chord so I can really start practicing switching chords in a normal song rhythm and not a dirge. I know it sounds cliché, but if I practice, I’ll get the hang of it. Duh. Oh, I’ve included the song below, if you want to check it out.

Slow Progress Report:

Do some cheap fun house (ok apartment) décor projects & try out foods that I have put on the “gross” list:

This picture does not belong on the ground. Someday it won't be. Someday.

My progress stagnated on these goals this month. So I’ve demoted them. They are still on my radar, and I’ve made some progress. But I think I could do more before this year is through.

For the house projects, I still want to make a collage in the study. Keep me honest people!

For the food project, I want to try a universally acknowledged “good” watermelon. I want to give it one more chance before it stays on the Gross List FOR-EV-ER.

Continue saving for a house down payment:

We are about to start really saving again! I can barely believe it, but I think my dream of owning a home may become a reality this year. I have my fingers crossed that it will actually happen around Thanksgiving. I will, of course, keep you updated as the search becomes more serious.

Close to completion, but not quite

Find a church home in Little Rock:

I’d say we’ve basically picked a church, but we still haven’t made it official. We are really enjoying getting involved and getting to know people. Ike and I have a great small group, and he has found a way to use his video skills, and I’m going to join a ladies Bible study. We’re also involved in a marriage class. I don’t know what we’d do or who we’d hang out with if we hadn’t found such a great group of people.

Resolutions that haven’t left the idealist page yet.

None! Oh yeah.

I plan to put up another post on Wednesday. See ya then!

Leave a Reply

