Buster in Action

17 Jun

Here’s the much awaited Buster update.

You ready?

Are you sure?

Ok.

He went to a dog park!!

If you find the previous sentence as unbelievable as I once did, I insist you read on.

First, let us take a moment to recognize that “It’s Friday, Friday!” Be honest, did I just kick a dead horse? Moment over.

Here’s the Buster lowdown.

Dog Park Behavior Grade: B-

The BAD

Buster definitely did better than I ever dreamed he would. But I can’t ignore a rather ugly scuffle at the beginning of our visit. After a sudden snap attempt, our dog trainer was running across the dog park with Buster in tow and 5 or so other dogs barking after him. It was scary.

If I had been handling Buster, I’m sure that I would have either:

A) Picked Buster up, ran out of there, jumped in the car, speed away never to return again

B) Sat down and cried

C) Not reacted quickly enough and somebody (me) or somebody’s beloved fur ball could have gotten hurt.

I think it is safe to say that I’m not ready to take Buster to the dog park by myself.

The Good

Eventually Buster settled. And I even witnessed a few interactions when he allowed a dog to sniff his face without a hint of aggression or even tension. That is very good news. Overall, I loved seeing Buster in a place with other dogs. That made me very happy.

What next?

Well, the only way for Buster to really be rehabilitated is for us to handle him while he calmly greets other dogs. This is where we need a little help. The only way we can do that is to meet other dogs on the walk, and ask their owners if their dog can come sniff Buster’s behind. Yes, we are currently working on the wording of that request. I’ll admit we haven’t done this yet, but that could have something to do with the lack of other crazy people walking their dogs in 100+ degree heat. In the meantime, we have to practice “the move.” By “the move” I mean either Ike or I will pick up Buster by the scruff and belly and turn him so the other dog has access to the…sniff zone.  Sounds funny, but it puts Buster’s face and teeth away from the other dog. It also puts him in a submissive position where he will be less likely to attack another dog later.

Behold, 'the move.' Imagine another dog in the 'sniff zone' for the full effect.

Well, there you have it! We have a mission: Find dogs for Buster to greet. I’ll let you know when we find them.  Wish us luck!

That’s it for today! Have a wonderful weekend. I’ll be back soon.

One Response to “Buster in Action”

  1. NicoleMt June 17, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    Buster can greet our dogs if you bring him over Labor Day!

Leave a Reply

