August Updates

5 Aug

Hey! For those who keep up with the blog (all of you right? *lowers glasses down nose*) you know that this would normally be the post when I’d share all the “progress” I’d made on my resolutions. Instead of boring you with the book I finished (Blood Meridian, skip it if you like plots/characterization), admitting I still don’t like watermelon (ew), sharing that I’m dying for a house (duh) and lamenting I haven’t touched a guitar all month (sigh), I’m going to tell you a story of triumph.

Everyone comfy on their carpet squares? It is story time!

[Insert enthusiastic fist pumps and cries of “yeah!” from the crowd.]

I alluded to this triumphant happening earlier this month, but this week it finally went down. Ike released his first full-length album with his band The Coasts on Monday. And although I think you should listen to it and love it (you totally would if you did), that’s not really the point of this story. The point is that he finally accomplished a dream that he’s had for years. And that, my friends, is inspirational.

Their bandcamp again, sorry, I just can't help myself.

At least it has inspired me. You know the secret? It’s so simple it hurts. Take action. Plan, yes. Dream, yes. But then get out there and pursue that illusive [fill in the blank]. Unless you goal is to rob a bank in every state, that is. I just can’t quite support that. Bottom line, Ike has inspired me to push beyond the compliancy of just existing. I want to live and grow, not just be.

But yeah, I’m mostly PROUD.

So before you go, here are a few other places The Coasts have been blogged. You’re welcome; I know you’ve been looking for a single place to find all of these. Enjoy your Friday and your weekend! You better believe I’ll be back soon.
http://papergardenrecords.com/lovelyheartsclub/lovely-hearts-club-presents-the-coasts-lhc-29/

http://edgyatbest.tumblr.com/post/8483190274/the-coasts-handshakers-i-havent-wailed-like-a

http://david-noel.com/post/8468991848/the-coasts-i-only-want-you-found-this-late-last#disqus_thread

http://epicconcoction.com/post/8350069610/thecoasts

Leave a Reply

