Eureka Springs: Food, Fun and a 7-Story Statue of Jesus

19 Aug

This past weekend Ike and I celebrated our 3rd anniversary.

*waits for applause to die down*

8.16.08 - Cute, huh?

Ahem. We made reservations at a quaint Bed and Breakfast in quirky, nay off-beat Eureka Springs and spent two short nights in that extremely relaxing environment. I have pictures of humming birds to prove it, people. It doesn’t get more peaceful than watching small woodland creatures. And although I don’t want this to be a food blog (see my post last week on Memphis and its multitude of food), BUT I have to say that our meals were definitely the high point of the excursion. Don’t worry I’ll dish on the place, the food and the activities below. You can click continue reading now.

The Place: The Heartstone Inn

Pretty, ain’t it?

I’ll let the pictures do most of the talking, but since I didn’t get a chance to snap a shot of the breakfast offerings, I will give a few details here. Crème Brulee French Toast. Is that enough? You should go there.

Our room, the Valley View Mini-Suite.

The promised humming bird picture (credits definitely go to Ike for this one).

The Activities: Eureka Springs and …you’ll see

Eureka Springs is a Victorian era town in the Ozarks, so it is picturesque, but very hilly. Bring your walking shoes if you plan to visit. Also, bring your patience. Ike and I (predictably, perhaps) got lost several times – like driving on a gravel road in the middle of nowhere kind of lost. It more fun than “Deliverance,” but still. No biggie, really. Other than that, enjoy!

Just walking the streets is a fun activity. The shopping is interesting. I honestly couldn’t find a thing to buy, but I enjoyed looking.

If this looks like a 7-story “Christ of the Ozarks” statue, that’s because it is. We may have gotten lost trying to find it, but it was worth it, as you can see.

The Food!

The first night we went to The Garden Bistro. It was A+ delicious! Everything was fresh and seemed to be prepared from scratch in the kitchen while we were waiting, which is a rare experience these days.

The salmon. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

The salmon. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

And the best for last.

The bread pudding. The icing was decadently sweet, but not too overwhelming. I loved it. In fact, I still dream about it.

The second night we went to Ermelio’s. And although I loved the food, I have to say (oddly enough) that the hour wait we had before the meal is one of my fondest memories from the trip. They have a cozy upstairs room where people can play board games while they wait. I’ve never had so much fun being patient before in my life!

My spinach fettuccine pesto dish. Yum.

Ike’s Italian sausage ravioli dish. Yum.

Tiramisu: Before.

Tiramisu: After. Case Closed.

And that was that. We had a lot of fun. So what if I ate half my weight in baked goods? Have a great weekend! See you soon.

Cute, huh?

One Response to “Eureka Springs: Food, Fun and a 7-Story Statue of Jesus”

  1. brooklynneboston August 19, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    I love your room! So stylish. If that was the mini suite, I can’t imagine what the grand suite looks like! Oh, and happy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

