Jillian Michaels: 6 Week 6 Pack*

1 Sep

*Ouch

First, I will apologize for missing my post last week. Ready for the sad part? I totally forgot about it, mostly because I fell asleep at 9:00 pm-ish last Thursday. Although I have no solid excuse, I bet I was exhausted from having guests in and out of Casa (apartment) de Peters for about a week. It was wonderful seeing the fam (and meeting the sister’s new boyfriend), but somehow it drained me.  I hope that is a valid excuse. To make it up to you I’ll try to do a two-post week sometime soon, give or take forever.

On to the main event…

You don’t have to tell me, I know I’m a little obsessed with Jillian Michaels’ workout DVDs. And I recently suffered through her 6 Week 6 Pack program. It has been a roller coaster ride that I’m personally relieved to get off. This workout was no joke, but I’ll get to that later.  On the positive side, I’ve had a little bit more fun going through this program because somehow I convinced Ike to go through it with me. I honestly never thought I’d see the day.  But I did. Go figure. With the purchase of 6 Week 6 Pack, you get one tough 30-minute workout and one BRUTAL 30-minute workout. Read on for all the gruesome and delightful details.

The BAD

A level one move, not so bad – yet.

Level 1 was actually manageable. Tough? Yes. Sweaty? Oh, yes. But not overwhelming. It mixed weight training with plank (e.g. mountain climbers) and a healthy dose of floor moves. In other words, I had time to catch my breath while still enjoying a toning workout.

Level 2, on the other hand, is awful. Just this week, I had to stop to catch my breath. If I hadn’t, I might have barfed, passed out or both – at the same time. Not pretty. Although my pre-workout hunger and pre-workout sweat from walking Buster may have contributed to my weakened state, I know that the unrelenting routine had a lot to do with it. Level 2 uses a hand weight for almost the entire time. Jillian whittles you down by combining ab moves with lunges, toe taps or high knees. It is intense. I usually get to the point when I’ll start mastering a workout. Not this one. Like I said before, ouch.

The GREAT

“Chops” from level 2. Ouch.

After all that belly aching, I have to admit that this video is the first one to actually take a few pounds off. I was impressed by the results. Ike also lost about 3 pounds or so. And let me tell you, we’ve been eating like crazy (Exhibit A, Exhibit B). If you saw me in bikini right now (which you wouldn’t, because I don’t have one), I wouldn’t quite have a 6 pack. But I do feel like Jillian’s torture has given me more definition than I’ve ever had in the midriff area. So I guess in some crazy way, I’m thankful for the stomach churning feeling she gave me this week.  What’s next? I read she’s coming out with a NEW video next week. I know, I know – I’m obsessed.

See you next week! I hope you all have a wonderful Labor Day weekend.

Leave a Reply

