Sweet Morsels

18 Nov

I can’t believe this is my first post this month. Even more shocking, Thanksgiving is one measly week away. My excuse for November blog silence? A slightly more intense rhythm of life. So, I decided to take this quiet moment to reflect. Be thankful. Take a breath. Clear my mind of relentless grown-up tasks like registering cars or re-upping the lease. You know, the kind of little things that suddenly add up to a tangled, gnawing, towering pile of THINGS TO DO. I’ll put that pile on hold for the moment and focus on the infinitely larger and more meaningful pile of THINGS I’M THANKFUL FOR. The longer I sift through the THANKFUL pile, the less intimidating the other one becomes. Don’t misquote me. I’m all for being responsible. But I don’t think responsibility should take precedence over the real stuff. Those sweet morsels of life that make it really worth living. And if I take just a moment of quiet to think about it, I’ve got more sweet morsels that I could ever hope to deserve.

I’m in such a thankful mood that if I don’t watch it,  I’d start my list at running water and go from there. And yes, I’m thankful for electricity and other modern marvels (Kitchen Aid mixers!). I’m also extremely thankful for my WRITING job , my new car and the fact that we’re still saving for a house. But that’s still not hitting on what’s real. That’s why I’m going to focus on the important people in my life. I don’t think it gets sweeter than meaningful relationships.

Wonderful People (and one crazy dog)

Ike is my best friend. We’ve been together for almost 5 years, now (wowza). And even though we’ve had our share of for-better-or-worse moments, he still tells me that he loves me AND that I look pretty every day. Can’t ask for more than that. And I can’t imagine spending my life with anyone else.

Sorry, we just can't help being cute.

My parents are wonderful. They think I can do no wrong (but they always forgive me when I do). That goes for my extended family as well!

My siblings are also (get ready for it) wonderful. I just wish I had more time (or maybe took the time?) to talk to them a little bit more.

Ike’s family have accepted me as their own. I’m so happy we live in the same town and that we get to see them more and more often.

College girls; we lived together, we cried together and we did silly things. I’m glad I got to see most of you this year, and I hope that we keep talking, keep visiting and keep being a part of each others’ lives. I’m sure I owe you all a call.

A couple weeks ago we officially placed membership at Chenal Valley Church, but we’ve felt like a part of that family for much longer. The Sunday life group is filled with people who are my friends and confidants. I’m sure these new relationships will only get sweeter with time.

Last, but not least, I wouldn’t enjoy my job near as much if I didn’t work all day with people I genuinely like.

Oh wait, there’s also Buster. He’s a loyal pal. And he’s probably taught me more about patience than I’ve ever taught him about being a “good dog.” Although he does do a mean roll over.

Everyone, have a wonderful Thanksgiving! I’ll be back soon. I’ve got some fun post ideas, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

