Merry Christmas Time

2 Dec

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas in the Peters’ house! For one, we are wearing our winter clothes inside because it’s so cold in here (yay for saving money at ridiculous lengths!). And two, we put up our little tree. Now, it’s nothing fancy, but I hope that its eclectic/nostalgic charm shines through its crowded boughs. Someday we’ll have a grownup tree, but this is not the year.

This season, I have a couple new additions to my holiday decor/ambience that I’d like to share. Here’s the teaser: She & Him and Sassy Reindeer. That got you, didn’t it?

A Very She & Him Christmas

I’m a traditionalist. I don’t do anything remotely Christmas-y until the day after Thanksgiving. But once it is over, I’m all in. The best part of that Friday after Thanksgiving is finally grooving to my Christmas playlist, which I’m ashamed to say has well over 200 songs. The past couple of years, Sufjan Steven’s Songs for Christmas has been my absolute favorite. And it still is. But this year, I did get a new album that I think will become a well-loved classic. And that is A Very She & Him Christmas. If you are looking for an album that sounds like a fireside carol session (with great instrumentation and charming vocals) then you pretty much have to buy this album. I may have been slightly disappointed by a lack of characteristic She & Him pep, but all in all, this album delivers Christmas cheer, and that’s all I can really ask for.

Sassy Reindeer painting via Spirited Art

Ike’s mom was kind enough to treat Ike and I to a night of painting at Spirited Art. If you live in Little Rock and haven’t been, I highly recommend it. You go, put on an apron, learn how to mix paints and proceed to create a “masterpiece” one circle at a time. I decided to take on a Christmas painting so that if I messed it up, I wouldn’t have to be embarrassed year round. I think it turned out whimsically lopsided. With my art skills, I couldn’t really ask for more. Here’s the whole process for your viewing pleasure:

Starting with a blank canvas, of course.

Here are the reindeer's heads.

Heads are almost done.

Creepy, right?

There's Rudolph!

Done!

2 Responses to “Merry Christmas Time”

  1. Michael December 2, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    I downloaded the She & Him album from Amazon the other day. I haven’t really listened to it yet, but the samples sounded like something I would like. Oh, and Whitney and I are going to look for a “grownup” tree tonight.

    • Alexis December 8, 2011 at 3:35 am #

      Have you listened to the album? I hope you do like it! Even more importantly, I hope you two found a wonderful “grownup” tree:)

Leave a Reply

