According to Alexis: Recipe for a Great Show

23 Nov

Last Thursday I went to a GRRRRReat show! Dr. Dog — a folksy rock group with a dash of psychedelic edge — played the Rev Room in Little Rock. After a blissful hour and a half of fun tunes, I felt like I had taken a mini (and much needed) vacation from day-to-day life.

I don’t always feel that great after a show. But in addition to the great performance, several key factors came together to create a nearly pitch-perfect night.

No Smoking

Let’s face it. Lots of people in a small space is already smelly. We’ve already got the guy who bathed in cheap cologne and the kid(s) who forgot to put on deodorant and/or bathe regularly. Why add a pungent, cancer-inducing haze? Smoke free is the way to be!

Perfect Position + Minimal Jostling

I do like to be close to the front in a small venue. I love the energy that emanates from the band to the crowd and back. I don’t mind people who jump, shake their hips or sing along (I’m right there). But I will not stand for moshing. No amount of music is worth a chipped tooth or a broken arm. So the key is to find a good, energetic location surrounded by non-moshers. Expert Tip: Look for 20-somethings who appear to have jobs.

Earplugs

My hearing is sensitive. I remember not being able to fall asleep after a show (maybe it was N’SYNC, what of it?) because my ears were ringing. Earplugs solve that problem. I can still hear the band, but I don’t get a headache or lose my hearing. Where’s the bad? Also, all the cool kids (me, so far) are doing it.

By the way, hope you all had a Happy Thanksgiving and are enjoying the first official day of Christmas-music listening!

See ya next week.

Leave a Reply

