3 Songs I Want to Learn on Guitar

25 Jan

Confession: I’ve totally ignored my beautiful new guitar (and my public resolution) with a total of maaaaybe 10 minutes played since Christmas times. My hard-earned calluses are softening, my feeble memories of chords, fading. So to make my resolution more tangible, I’m picking 3 songs I’d like to learn on guitar before the end of the year (ok, if I learn 1 I get a gold star).

 Cliche Classic: Led Zeppelin – “Stairway to Heaven”

Let’s get this one out of the way, shall we? Isn’t this THE song that every budding guitarist tries to learn? Well, count me in. Even if it takes me 20 minutes to play that all-too-familiar intro, I will, someday.

 Token Slow Jam: Bon Iver – “Skinny Love”

Bon Iver graced Little Rock with their presence at the Riverfront amphitheater back in June. My favorite moment of the show? When it started pouring rain during Skinny Love. That was a transcendent rock’n’roll moment to remember. Will it resemble my labored picking in the living room? Probably not, but it’s worth a try!

 Peppy Sing-Along: She & Him – “Sentimental Heart”

Ok, if you actually listen to the words of the song, it’s not too peppy. But I love She & Him and their fun, throwback vibe and I happen to know all the words to this somehow vivacious breakup song. If this one happens to have bar chords (I’ll ask Prof. Ike), then I’ll just pick another. I also really love their cover of “I Should Have Known Better” which would check off the all-important Beatles/British Invasion category on my guitar-musts list.

Well folks, I’m off to have a busy (read: slightly hectic) weekend of baby showers, baking and, oh yeah, MOVING!! If you’re lucky, I’ll document how to add Oreo balls to your dessert arsenal. Until then, have fun!

Leave a Reply

