Oreo Ball-in’

8 Feb

Strangely enough, the two most popular subjects on my blog are dessert recipes and Jillian Micheals workout reviews. I’m not sure if I have two kinds of readers or just the same guilty ones who make delicious sugar cookies or no bakes and then work out vigorously the next day.

A question for the ages…

Anyway, if you love rich chocolately desserts AND you want an easy (but impressive) recipe to impress friends with, then you, my friend, are in the right place. Just follow these steps and you’ll be oreo ballin’ in no time.

And stay tuned, if you love to work out: I plan to review Phase I of Jillian Micheals’ 90 Day Revolution soon!

First I’d like to thank Nicole Mount (my friend and fellow Coasts wife) for sharing this tasty concoction with me. It has come in handy for Christmas times, and most recently, my oreo-craving expecting friend’s shower.

1. First assemble the delicious ingredients.

The Ingrediants

  • 1 package of Oreo (or slightly cheaper, Oreo-inspired) cookies
  • 1 8-0z. package cream cheese. I use the 33% less fat version to make myself feel better. (who am I kidding??)
  • Dipping chocolate of your choice. I went with white this time, but I will say one package was not enough. My baking assistant had to run out for a bag of chips, which went a lot farther and actually worked perfectly.
  • Crisco, as needed for thinning
  • Special equipment: food processor or blender

2. Put as many Oreos in your handy-dandy food processor and process those cookies into a fine black powder. Try to eliminate all signs of the cream. Repeat until you have annihilated the entire pack. (whoa, that got surprisingly violent).

Food Processor

3. Next, add the cream cheese. As Nicole so aptly put it, “this makes a delicious Oreo paste.”

Cream Cheese

4. Now form this decadent edible paste into bite-size morsels. Going small is a good idea, because they are intense. I just place them on a wax paper-covered cookie sheet.

5. This next step calls for patience. Stick your newly formed balls (be mature) into the freezer for about 30 minutes. If not, they’ll get all crumbly and give you a headache.

6. After 30 minutes or so, it’s time to melt the chocolate. Any member of the chocolate family will do. Just melt according to the instructions. I use the microwave – 30 second intervals and lots of stirring usually does the trick. To get the best coverage, I use a fork to submerge each ball. If your chocolate gets too thick, add a dab of Crisco.

7. When you’re all done, stand back and admire your work. If you’re anything like me, they’ll probably look sad and misshapen. Just use any extra chocolate for drizzling and all the sudden the imperfections look intentional. Amazing! Plus, they’ll taste so good, no one will look at them for long.

image

Sorry for missing last week. I was busy with stuff like, I don’t know, moving into my house!!! Get ready for picture updates soon, but not until I get that second coat of paint done in the kitchen!

One Response to “Oreo Ball-in’”

  1. Jean Cobb February 8, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    Looks delicious,Alexis,i enjoy your blogs,keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

