Countertop Conundrum

22 Feb

Confession Time: I have a new obsession. Along with coffee and shows created by Amy Sherman Palladino, I can’t tear myself away from my Houzz app. This new fixation springs from my thirst to update my kitchen.

We’ve already repainted the walls, trim and cabinets and I’m in the process of picking fabric for curtains. See?

photo (1)

Before: The Red Era

photo (3)

New Green walls, creamy white counters and kitchen curtain fabric. Can’t decide if I need a coordinating fabric yet. Decisions, decisions.

Now for the major decisions — countertops and floors.

I’m thinking some sort of light neutral tile for the floor. Something that doesn’t show dirt but also keeps the room bright and happy. We could also take the wood floors into the kitchen.

At the countertop decision, I come to a complete stop. I want to upgrade my laminate, but I think granite might be too cold for the look I’m going for.

So my 2 major considerations are white marble and butcher block.

I’m not sure if I have a white marble-worthy space. It is pretty, but not like grand. And I don’t really want it to be. My palette tends to be more casual with green, yellow, coral and teal.

I’m actually leaning toward butcher block. It is light, warm and goes with my palette. For the backsplash I’d like to price white subway tile or beadboard.

This is where the questions start.

Will buyers hate it?

Should I really care about buyers when I haven’t even lived in my house for a month?

Does it require too much maintenance?

Can it handle my blow-up-the-kitchen cooking style?

So what do you think? Any suggestions will be much appreciated. I need some sleep!

10 Responses to “Countertop Conundrum”

  1. Kendra February 22, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    Have you seen concrete before?? I like butcher block too!

    • Alexis February 22, 2013 at 6:56 pm #

      I need to find more pictures of concrete, I’ve heard it looks cool!

  2. Kathryn February 22, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    We redid our kitchen 3 years ago, and I know there are so many decisions! I love the idea of bead board for the backsplash, but I do think subway tile would be easier to keep from staining (I’m thinking like how red spaghetti sauce always seems to splatter on something and you don’t find it until later when it’s already left some nasty little mark). I think butcher block would be cool, but practically speaking I’d be worried about meat germs. I think maintenance wise with it you have to oil them to keep them nice looking, but I don’t think you have to do it often. We ended up looking at quartz countertops and laminate. Quartz is nice bc its hard stone but really low maintenance. We know we won’t be in our house forever though and didn’t want to overdo our house compared to the neighborhood, so we picked an HD laminate that looks really pretty good with a custom edge to make it look a little nicer. But no matter what you pick there’s a plus and minus, so I think you just have to decide your primary needs and concerns. Kitchens are the most-used room in the house, so functionality was important for us. I hope this helps!

    • Alexis February 22, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

      I love cooking and baking (and I’m not the neatest cook or baker), so ease of maintenance is key. I don’t want to always be worried about my countertop/back splash. I’m going to take a serious look at the pros and cons of each choice. I’m excited, but this is a lot of choices for an indecisive person:)

  3. Thriftymom February 22, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    I vote for the butcher block and beadboard. Both are simply timeless. I’m seeing a lot of beautiful examples of both in magazines and the internet right now AND they are much easier on the pocketbook!

  4. Alyssa Fox February 22, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    Hey Alexis – I agree with you on the granite – while pretty, it doesn’t fit with your space. My old house was the same way – the kitchen was just too casual for granite. I love the butcher block idea, but I’m not sure what maintenance is like for it. Have you thought about Corian? That’s a nice upgrade from laminate but not as “fancy” as granite or marble.

    • Alexis February 22, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

      Thanks! I will look into Corian. Love the look of some of the pictures I’m finding.

  5. Thriftymom February 22, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    One more note, you could always add an island that has a marble or granite top to satisfy that look too!

    • Alexis February 22, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

      I like that idea! I’d also love an island!

  6. Christin February 27, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    I love the houzz app too. I like butcher block too. There is also concrete countertops as well. You can make them look like whatever you want. I think go with what you want. If you going to stay there for at least 10 years style will change again and they can change it.

Leave a Reply

