Home Owner Adventure: Bum Water Heaters and 3 Things You Can Learn From Them

29 Mar

Last week, Ike and I had an adventure! But unfortunately it involved cold showers and a $400 bill. So, we didn’t save Middle Earth or anything, but there was a learning experience nonetheless. Drumroll, please! The borrowed time we were living on with a 9-year old water heater trickled out two Tuesdays ago.

photo (4)

We upgraded to a 50 gallon heater, life in the fast lane. Woo hoo!

We are lucky enough to have a brother-in-law in the contracting business who volunteered to do the installation work the next week. Cheapskate that I am, I gratefully accepted his offer and entered the Ice Age at the Peters house.

During that week, (our garage door also went out, by the way) I learned several deep life lessons. And in awesome blog style, I created a numbered list for your readin’ pleasure. You’re welcome.

I'm also thankful for this little guy:)

I’m also thankful for this little guy:)

1. Hot water and garage doors aren’t controlled by magic. They take time and $$ to fix, but you can live without these amazing modern conveniences…barely. Their momentary absence from my life taught me to stop and appreciate these wonders, and other “fancy” things I don’t usually take the time to notice and be thankful for (electricity, cars, new Justin Timberlake albums). And (newsflash) being a homeowner is a lot of responsibility.

2. I couldn’t be real pioneer woman unless I could keep my Nook. I spent an electricity-less evening at home as the men worked on the water heater. I was perfectly happy reading Life of Pi on my Nook with Buster on the coach. Backlit screens, another modern marvel.

3. I’m very thankful for all the family we have living so close! Ike’s dad came by our house the next day while we were at work to get his friend to fix the garage door. So wonderful! And our brother-in-law did successfully get rid of the bum heater and install the new one in our home, saving us a pretty penny. Not to mention all the times Ike’s sister lets Buster out when we are running late at work. We are lucky!

photo (5)

Here’s a little preview of my kitchen/dining room curtains. More pictures to come if I ever get them all hung!

Sorry to skip last week, but I was too busy sitting in the dark and not showering! Here’s to an adventureless weekend!

2 Responses to “Home Owner Adventure: Bum Water Heaters and 3 Things You Can Learn From Them”

  1. Rhonda Rubin March 29, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Ah, water heaters. Ours tried to burn our house down and kill us on Christmas Eve a few years ago. As soon as you realize that a house is simply a hole into the ground into which you pour money, you’ll be fine. We had a plumbing issue last year that, when all was said and done, wound up being about $8,000. Yes, I’m still bitter. Also? A bit poor. However, our power bills are where they should be again.

  2. kprimm1 March 29, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    Buster is looking extra shaggy in that pic!

Leave a Reply

