Style to the Maxi*

26 Apr

*You’re right. That does sound weird. Just thought I’d try it.

I’m a late adopter. Case in point: I just got a smartphone this Christmas (gasp!). With technology, I like to let the fads die down and prices drop. I was also scared I’d get addicted (I kind of am) and that Ike and I’d become one of those couples who browse through dinner and never talk (not true, we watch TV, silly).

My fashion sense is no different. Although I’d love to say I’m just super classic and not trend swayed. It’s mostly about fear. I can’t tell you A) how long it took me to try tights+dress+boots and B) how many times I did try them on and then change because I thought I looked funny. Now, I live in that look for fall and winter, go figure.

I finally conquered my warm-weather fashion-block: the maxi length. AND it better not go out soon, because I just jumped on the wagon.

Here are 3 reasons why I don’t think it will be leaving the stores or my closet anytime soon.

1) Perfect combo of comfy and girly

photo (10)

Especially in the stretchy knit variety, this style has almost a vacation-level comfort. But, it’s a full-length skirt which makes me feel like (super) casual Jane Austen character.

2) Full leg coverage e.g. no shaving required

photo (11)

This is where practically sets in. Here’s my little secret: I don’t shave everyday (LOL). But I really love to wear dresses for their ease — one step, hello! — and, again, femininity. The maxi dress wraps both of my passions (not shaving + wearing dresses) in one cute package. Bonus: you can start being springy with pasty skin, too! I think we’re getting to win-win-win here people.

3) Good Temperature Control

photo (12)

Sorry my pics aren’t magazine-worthy, my styling assistant is a dog…

Even though they are full-length, they still feel very breezy. And for people who work in ice-box-like conditions, they completely cover your legs to cut the edge against the cold.

Sorry I’ve been gone for a while! I was too busy being in Houston buying maxi dresses! Oh and putting the finishing touches on the kitchen. You like?

Bamboo blinds! Thanks to Aunt Debbie & Uncle Charles:)

Bamboo blinds! Thanks to Aunt Debbie & Uncle Charles:)

One Response to “Style to the Maxi*”

  1. KK April 26, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    Yes i like! I want more maxi dresses too!

Leave a Reply

