$10 Dining Room Renewal

10 May

Ok, this isn’t quite as exciting as the impending birth of our first child…But I feel like the recent re-birth (clever, huh?) of my dining room chairs deserved some blog time.

This easy (although a little time consuming) project was an inexpensive way to update my antique dining room table and chairs.

Before:

photo (3)

Here are 10 tips for this 10 dollar project!

Tip #1: Shop Local for Great Deals

photo (2)

First off, for my Arkansas fans (the Legion, I like to call them), I found this dining room set at The Furniture Consignment Place of Conway. I was very impressed by their quality, service and prices! If you are looking for furniture, don’t miss it!

Tip #2: Make Things Easy with a Solid, Small-Print or Graphic-Print Fabric

photo (10)

That way, you don’t have to worry matching big repeats or and thus wasting a lot of fabric. Plus, all that thinking will probably give you a headache.

Tip #3: Measure Your Chairs

photo (5)

This may seem like a no brainer, but go to the fabric store (in my case the awesome Hobby Lobby) prepared. I actually lucked out, although I measured 2 of my chairs to make sure they were the same size, I didn’t notice that the armed chair (or the throne) was a little bigger…. My fabric still worked, but watch out for that!

Tip #4: Trust your Fabric Expert

photo (4)

I’m new to crafty projects. So thankfully all I had to do was let the fabric cutter (is there a better term for this essential role?) know how big my chairs were and she figured out how much fabric I needed. I feel like she ended up giving me about a 2” leeway on each side for each chair. I’m not sure if that is a good rule of thumb, but it worked for me! Like I said, trust your fabric cutter.

Expert Tip: If you do go to HobLob, make sure to download their daily 40% coupon on your smartphone!!

Tip #5: Gather Your Supplies

photo (6)

You’ll need:

  • Chairs with detachable seats

  • Easy-to-work-with fabric

  • Tape measurer

  • Pencil

  • Scissors

  • Screw driver

  • Heavy duty stapler & staples

  • A willing partner

 

Tip #6: Make the Cut

photo (7)

This was the most nerve-wracking part. To make myself feel better, I removed a couple of the seats to prove to myself that my projected cuts would work. If you do pick an easy-to-work with fabric, you can probably get 2 chairs out of each width. In other words, you can buy less!

Tip#7: Un-Screw It: The Musical

Here’s where we get to the monotony. At this point, find a great album and unscrew all those seats. I’m currently jazzed about the new Vampire Weekend album, so I KNOW that’ll get you through.

Tip#8: Get By with a Little Help from Your Friend

photo (8)

Find a helper who is excited by the power of a heavy-duty stapler and you might find that this project nearly finishes itself (see picture)! Although I bet you could do this by yourself, it is nice to have an extra set of hands to make sure the fabric is as taut and wrinkle free as possible.

Tip #9: Musical, Reprise

Turn up those tunes again, because you have to REmantle all the chairs you dismantled. I’ll admit this was a several-day process at the Peters’ home. So I was startled several times by the burglar-inspired disarray in my dining room.

Tip #10: Sit Back and Enjoy

photo (9)

I really love how it all came together!

Class dismissed! Enjoy your weekend, I’ll be back soon.

2 Responses to “$10 Dining Room Renewal”

  1. Thriftymom May 10, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    Wow, it really looks great!

  2. Emily P May 16, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    Those are beautiful! Great job!

Leave a Reply

