Current Thoughts: Homemade Granola & Natural Childbirth

9 Aug

The ramification of February 16, 2012 – our wreck – still likes to rear its not-so-pretty head every once in awhile. Case in point: not only did I learn I was slightly anemic and had to take the 3-hour glucose test at my last appointment, but my doctor told me that the anesthesiologists at our hospital wanted me to come in and talk to them about my back surgery/epidural potential.

Whew. Talk about an intense 15 minutes. It led up to a movie-worthy break down during breakfast. I think I scared poor Ike as I ripped up the instructions for the glucose test outside of Chick-Fil-A (yes, unfortunately this DID happen) and spitefully refused to eat my hashbrowns.

My prize for sucking it up and taking the 3-hour test. Ike is the BEST.

My prize for sucking it up and taking the 3-hour test. Ike is the BEST.

Thankfully, Ike still loves me AND I passed the glucose test (yay for eating ice cream in the 3rd trimester!). And in an effort to add more iron in my diet, I changed prenatal vitamins (no more chewies for me), bought a ton of spinach and attempted to snack on pumpkin seeds and dried apricot.

Unfortunately, baby E thinks pumpkin seeds are disgusting. So I only ate about 3 of the 1/4 C serving before giving up in disgust. But I didn’t want to waste the entire bag of treats or the iron potential, so I went to the internetz for a pumpkin seed solution.

After a few minutes, I had a lightbulb moment: homemade granola. If I’m honest with myself, and I like to be, granola bars are my very fave snack. So why not incorporate iron rich foods into something I already like?

The finished product! Click here for the inspiration blog. Thanks The Naptime Chef!

The finished product! Click here for the inspiration blog. Thanks The Naptime Chef!

I knew I found a winner when this recipe had pumpkin seeds AND dried apricots. I’ve been snacking on the bars all week, and I have to say, they are pretty yum. My only critique? A little too salty. Next time (and there will be a next time), I’ll back down from a 1/2 tsp for sure.

But the rest of the concept is great, especially the peanut butter/honey/rice crispy combo. Plus, they were super easy to make, stayed together much better than I thought they would AND disguise the taste of the dreaded pumpkin seed. Success!

If I get adventurous, I may try this delectable sounding pumpkin granola from skinny taste:

This looks yum!

This looks yum!

But it takes more fancy ingredients than I was willing to risk for my current projects. But along with homemade salad dressing, homemade cereal could be a fun upcoming project!

Ok, now back to the natural childbirth musings. After talking to an exceptionally helpful doctor, I was assured that despite my spinal fusion, I’m very likely to experience a “pain-free” birth with an epidural.

After seriously considering natural childbirth (by force, but still), I still think I might go for the drugs. Although The Business of Being Born (yes, that is how I spent last Friday night) makes a compelling argument for the beauty and even safety of natural childbirth, I just don’t know if I want to be in so much pain. And that’s my right.

Watch it, but be warned, you get to see ALL of Ricki Lake.

Watch it, but be warned, you get to see ALL of Ricki Lake.

As far as birth plans go, I would NOT like to be induced and to NOT have a C-section, and I’m really going to try and hold out for as long as possible on the drugs, but I’m not going to feel like a failure if (when) I go for relief.

My mom had an epi with me, and I don’t blame her one bit. I don’t have any weird disorders, and I’d say we’ve bonded pretty well over the last 27 years.

Bottom line: I want a healthy baby! So even if this rudimentary plan is derailed, the outcome will still be wonderful if we both come out healthy and happy.

Here’s the details on the granola if you want em:

Mix all of these in a bowl:

Dry ingredients, so healthy, I think.

Dry ingredients, so healthy, I think.

1/4 C sunflower seeds (I think I bought some salted ones which could have contributed to my problem)

1/4 C unsalted roasted peanuts (oops, on the salted again)

1/4 C raw pumpkin seeds

3/4 C Rice Krispies

1/4 C sliced dried apricots

1/4 C dried cranberries (I skipped this this time, but I’m sure it would be great with them)

1/2 tsp sea salt (start with less!)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

The BEST part.

The BEST part.

Microwave these two in a big glass bowl for 30 seconds.

1/4 C peanut butter

1/4 C honey

Add your nutty mixture to the honey/peanut butter. Press delish gooey mixture into a waxed paper-lined loaf pan. Cover with plastic wrap and gently press down so your mixture spreads evenly. Finally, cover again with plastic and stick in the fridge. Let it firm up for at least 2 hours. Cut into (nearly equal) bars.

photo (22)

I keep mine in the fridge and just get out what I want for the day. I think they’ll stay better formed that way.

I’ve taken up enough of your time, so I’ll say goodbye and have a great weekend!

One Response to “Current Thoughts: Homemade Granola & Natural Childbirth”

  1. Alyssa Fox August 10, 2013 at 12:22 am #

    First off, I love your curtains – so cheerful. Secondly, I think it’s great you’re going to try for natural childbirth, but aren’t completely ruling out the epidural. The more accepting you are going in that things could easily change once you’re in labor, the easier for you it will be.

    I am totally pumped to try those granola bars, and I always thought people who made their own granola bars were, well, a bit too granola. Ha! But that recipe looks great!

    Can’t wait to see pics of your and Ike’s new one…so happy for you guys!

Leave a Reply

