28 Candles

27 Sep

Like (self-involved? silly? smart?) high-school girls, I usually commemorate my b-day with a week-long celebration. And this year I especially feel very lucky to be so thoroughly honored by my friends and fam. (I’m talking a wonderful b-day date, surprise party, flowers, amazing chocolate baked goods…the list goes on) So I thought I’d “give back” (sorry, no monetary value) and call out the people worthy of celebration in my life.

Ike

photo 3

Ike gets top billing because he’s the BEST.

Confession: I always feel a little bad around b-day (and V-day and Christmas) time because I’m a celebration person and thus prone to grand dreams and inevitable disappointments, aka a man’s worst nightmare. Somehow Ike has stuck with me through 7 years of special events, and for that I’m truly grateful. This year he went above and beyond with a surprise party (the 3rd he’s planned for me:)!

Lately, he’s been putting me to shame by nesting more than me! He’s hard at work painting the crib (and ALL the spindles.) I’ll share the final look soon!

Our Families

photo 1

I’m really excited for Elliott to meet his eager grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins! I feel like they are constantly showering him with furniture, clothes, toys, books, quilts and custom art. He’s a lucky little man!

Plus, they like me, too! The Peters treated me to a wonderful dinner last night, and my mom, sister and Nana are currently on their way to town (yay!!) to help me with my nursery and attend my church shower.

Small Group

Formed shortly before the grand crash of ‘12, this supportive group of friends has been crucial through my recovery (thanks for trying to teach me how to knit, Amber!), career ups and downs, moving into our house and, now, hosting my shower to celebrate Elliott. I don’t deserve you!

Is this post getting too mushy? I’m sorry! I just have to say that I’m so happy to have you all in my life. Done.

Silver City

photo 2

Warning: Shameless Plug Ahead.

Being involved in Silver City has been a rewarding/challenging experience. It takes me out of myself and my (ever-changing, but constant) list of worries, and helps me focus on building a relationship with a very special little girl, Aubryanna.

Although it is yet another thing to add to our weekly to-do list, I think that being involved in a regular service is a great way to keep perspective on what’s important. I really missed that guidance over the summer, and I’m so thankful that it has started up again!

Sorry for all the gushing! There are even more people that I could write pages and pages on (sweet co-workers, awesome college friends), but I’ll just have to save that for another day (lucky you!!)

Have a great weekend! I’ll be back soon with maternity pictures, nursery and church shower updates! Be excited.

 

Leave a Reply

