Resolving in 2012

6 Jan

Hey! I know, I know. It’s been far too long. The previous post is mocking me with its month old date and now irrelevant (dare I say tacky) Christmas title. I’m going to remedy my long silence with a quick retrospective on my successful and failed resolutions from last year and a dramatic (read: probably average) reveal of my 2012 resolutions.

"Read on!" Buster exclaimed.

Resolution Retrospective: How I did in 2011

1. Find a church home in Little Rock – Success!

We placed membership a couple months ago at Chenal Valley church. We love it there!

2. Read at least 1 novel per month- Success!

I actually nervously racked my brain to make this list, but I just did it! Sure, there may be a lot of “easy” books on there, but I also took on a Russian novel, Tolkien, Dickens and McCarthy. Man, I wish I could at least get a gold star or some sort of extra credit for that! For all my fellow readers out there (I hope there are a few?) here’s how I spent my reading time last year.

  1. Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins
  2. Mocking Jay – Suzanne Collins
  3. The Silmarillion – JRR Tolkien
  4. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – Stieg Larsson
  5. The Virgin Suicides – Jeffrey Eugenides
  6. The Year of the Flood – Margaret Atwood
  7. The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay – Michael Chabon
  8. The Brothers Karamazov – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  9. Blood Meridian – Cormac McCarthy
  10. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
  11. The Help – Kathryn Stockett
  12. Faithful Place – Tana French

3. Teach Buster a new trick – Success!

This bad boy makes Buster a great boy on walks!

Although Buster doesn’t know a new super-cute trick (other than being super-cute 99% of the time), I’d say that he did gain a new leash (HA!) on the walk and general anger management. All thanks to See Spot Sit Training and his scary choke collar!

4. Find a way to generate income while doing work I love – Success!

I spend my days writing product, banner and blog copy for Dillards.com. I count that as a double success because I write AND the subject matter interests me.

5. Continue saving for a house down payment – Success!

Although we had to use some of our savings for the Yaris, we are still on track (cross my fingers, knock on wood, etc.) to be in a house by this Nov/Dec.

6. Keep in touch with my college pals – Success!

A reunion did take place! But I’d say I could do better in general with little communications here and there like surprise phone calls, “I’m thinking about you” texts or even a bona fide note in the mail.

7. Try out foods that I have put on the “gross” list – Success!

I tried! I realized that tomatoes aren’t my fave, but I don’t detest them anymore. Even better, I usually keep them on my sandwiches or salads (another gold star worthy action, I think). But melons are still on the gross list. Sorry.

8. Learn a song on the guitar – Fail!

I don’t have a great excuse. But I do have these:

  • Work takes a lot of time
  • Puny finger strength
  • Just totally failing to make it a priority at all

9. Do some cheap fun house (ok apartment) décor projects – Success!

I did hang pictures, cover a canvas and make some rearrangements. Not a glowing success, but not a complete fail.

10. Continue my daily disciplines – Success!

Thanks for all the good times, Jillian.

Overall success! I feel solid about working out 4 -5 times a week. I got through half of Psalms as of December. So if everything goes well, I can finish out the rest this year!

The bottom line? I only completely failed on 1 of 10 goals. I say that is A- success!

The Dramatic Resolution Reveal

DRUMROLL

…sorry that is all the drama that I’ve got.

Roll Over Resolutions:

I hope this isn’t cheating (what am I saying? This is MY list so deal with it), but here are the resolutions from last year that I want to keep up or try again.

1. Read at least 1 novel per month.

Currently Reading: Middlemarch by George Elliot

2. Continue saving for a house down payment.

  • Ultimate Goal: Be in a house by the time our lease is up in December.
  • Stretch Goal:  Be able to put down enough to get a 15 year loan.

3. Keep in touch with my college pals.

  • New Habit Goal: Do better with the day to day communication.
  • Annual Goal: Make sure a reunion happens again this year.

4. Learn a song on the guitar.

5. Continue my daily disciplines.

  • Maintenance Goal: Workout 4-5 times each week.
  • Improvement Goal: Read the rest of the Bible by December.

New Resolutions:

6. Learn to sew.

This is where the magic will happen.

First Step:  Ike’s mom got me sewing lessons for Christmas, so right now all I have to do is call and set up my class to begin my creative journey.

Second Step: Go to class and CREATE!

7. Blog more often.

  • Minimum Goal: Post once a month.
  • Ideal Goal: Post once (or more) a week.

And that’s it for now folks. I’ve worked out an editorial calendar for at least one topic/week through Jan. We’ll see if that helps. If all goes to plan, I’ll see ya next week!

3 Responses to “Resolving in 2012”

  1. Katie Peters Mitchell January 6, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    You inspire me!!! I love how your resolutions are diverse. Mine are usually really shallow & I certainly don’t have a 90% success rate! Have I mentioned that I’m glad you married my brother? 🙂

  2. Grandma Jean January 7, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    Love your writing,Alexis.Your blog reminded me of G.L.He called a meeting of our family,together,the first week of January,to go over our resolutions from thr previous year,voting on who had done the best,in keeping them or improving the most,then making new ones for the coming year.The big catch was ,we made the resolutions for every one else but ourselves.That was hard,.but it made us more aware of what we really needed to improve on. Love you.Grandma

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spice it Up: Search for the Perfect Salsa I « Milk & Cookies - January 13, 2012

    […] addition to my other worthy goals, this year I have resolved to find the best homemade salsa recipe ever. I don’t think I risk […]

Leave a Reply

