It’s the Final Countdown! Baby Elliott Watch is ON!

11 Oct

With all* the requests for a new post, I couldn’t resist making my public happy. So here’s the short and sweet update: I’m nearly 36 weeks pregnant, and I have no idea how I got here. Yes, I know where babies come from, but I mean, who gave August and September permission to fly by? The past two weeks have especially been a whirlwind of family visits, showers and lots of trips to Babies R Us.

_DSC3996

I won’t try to figure out time and it’s tricky ways (today, at least), so all you get is a plain, old-fashioned recap as we enter THE FINAL COUNTDOWN to Baby Elliott (throws pennies in the air).

Maternity Pictures

_DSC4169bw

Seems like I’ve become a trend follower in the “these are the steps you must take when you’re pregnant” department. I’m weak! So yes, I had a gender reveal party. And yes, I broke down and scheduled maternity and newborn pictures (with the amazing Restless Photography, check them out!).

_DSC4014

When I asked Ike if he wanted to do park setting or an urban setting for the shoot, he was like “Neither, that’s not us.” Sigh. He wanted a non-cheesy, day-in-the-life type session sans floating baby heads or excessive belly touching (and I, of course, outlawed belly exposure/painting/whatever else people do that makes me feel uncomfortable).

_DSC4114

We landed on meeting at Community Bakery (I am nothing, if not a coffee and cookie lover), and I think that our photographer, Adam, really gave us that “hey, we’re a happy couple who also happens to be pregnant and excited about it” vibe that we were looking for. We’ll see how he deals with our “no naked baby, umbilical cord stubs or silly hats” rule for the newborn shots. Yes, we may be a little high maintenance…

_DSC3983

Shower

photo 3 (1)

As we were smiling for the camera at the maternity shoot,  my mom, sister, Nana and brother drove into Little Rock to hang out, help with the nursery and attend my shower at Chenal Valley Church. At church on Sunday we had a full pew with 10 family members there to celebrate Elliott with us. I was so touched and thankful they made the effort to come. And that doesn’t count my aunt, cousin, mother-in-law, sister-in-law and nieces who also attended the shower. It’s so wonderful and comforting to see how much love Elliott already has in his scrunched up little life.

photo 1 (2)

Beyond family, I loved how many people from Little Rock Church (where Ike grew up) also attended. They are wonderful ladies! And of course, I really appreciate my sweet hostesses and ladies from Chenal who braved a rainy Sunday afternoon to watch me open presents. (Hey, there was amazing cake, at least!).

IMG_5291

Between the 2 showers and other kind gifts, I’ve written over 80 thank you notes! Wowza, I guess a large stamp bill in my future is a good problem to have. We are blessed. (And now have a ton of baby swag).

Nursery Updates

So I may or may not have had a breakdown on the way to buy a mattress in the days following the shower. It was something about the boxes that literally filled our living room, the mound of tiny (monkey-themed) clothes and the hodge-podge of baby everything that put me over the edge as we drove to pick up yet another baby essential (that I hadn’t fully researched).

I was happy, thankful, excited, OVERWHELMED (welcome to pregnancy, right?), and I just didn’t know if we’d get our life back in order before the big D-day.

I have since recovered, but I still don’t have any “completed” nursery pictures yet…maybe next week? Right now, here’s the breakdown.

The good news:

photo 1 (1)

Sorry, these are teaser pictures…I will update as soon as things look less like a baby blanket barfed in the room and more like I actually tried to prepare a space for my baby…Stay tuned!

  • The Ikea dresser is put together!
  • We have curtains, a rug and wall art for the room!
  • We were able to buy a fancy video monitor (which Ike uses to spy on Buster) and mattress with our shower gift cards!
  • We have a car seat, already installed in the Rav, to bring him home in and a pack and play for him to sleep in!
  • AND the crib is finally painted. I love it white, by the way.

photo 2 (1)

The still-gotta-do this list:

  • Wash some newborn clothes, maybe a few 3 month selections and his sheets. I’m buying Dreft this weekend and getting to it.
  • Organize the rest of the clothes mound for later.
  • Hang up said wall art.
  • Put together said crib.
  • WARNING possible TMI: Decide what to do about a breast pump.
  • And, last but not least, stop losing my iPhone at every turn. (not nursery related, but it is getting OLD).

Update on the bump! Currently stretching the fibers of knit and decency! You can wear a short dress with tights, right?

photo 4

As my days of being pregnant are limited, I’ll try to post more often (but no promises!). This weekend Ike and I plan to go on a date! I’m so excited. And, as mentioned above, we will also tackle the nursery along with other “nesting? maybe?” chores like perfecting the yard and generally organizing the house.

See you soon!

*ok, just 1, thanks Brittney for making me feel loved!

2 Responses to “It’s the Final Countdown! Baby Elliott Watch is ON!”

  1. Valerie October 11, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    Aww, you guys are seriously so cute together! I love the style maternity pics you chose to do!

  2. Jean Cobb October 11, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

    I can hardly wait for little Elliott to be here,hope you liked the baby book.

Leave a Reply

