Homemade Pizza*

26 Jan

* = With whole wheat crust and spicy marinara

Homemade pizza is one of my favorite new endeavors. Pizza is a staple in the Peters house. I’m willing to admit it appears on the menu nearly every week. With all the topping varieties, who could blame us? I sincerely hope it’s not you! Anyway, with all the pizza eating, I got tired of repeatedly buying pre-made crust and sauce. Then the obvious solution hit me. Why not make those on my own? I have to say that was a great idea. For a little more time investment I get a cheaper and, in my opinion, superior product.  Plus, each time I make it I get a little closer to the ultimate pizza. Last week, I was nearly there and I’m willing to share. You ready? Let the pizza making begin.

Phase I: The Crust

I combined the KitchenAid and Better Homes recipe for this lovely result.

Ingredients

1 package yeast

1 cup warm water

½ tsp salt

2 tsp olive oil

For a whole wheat crust – 1 ¾ C whole wheat Flour & 1 ¼ all-purpose Flour

The Process

1 If using KitchenAid Mixer, warm metal bowl by rinsing with hot water. Be careful things are about to get HOT in here.

2 Dissolve yeast in warm water. Add salt and olive oil. Please don’t argue about the olive oil, this is nothing, wait until we get to the sauce.

3 Gradually add the flours. With the mixer, use the kneading hook on speed 2 until dough starts to clean the sides of the bowl. If hand kneading, stir in as much flour as you can, then knead in the rest. Work dough until it is stiff, but elastic. NOTE: The first time I tried whole wheat dough, I used only whole wheat flour which was a disaster. Learn from my mishap and use a mixture of all-purpose and whole wheat. Unless you like throwing away inedible messes. It’s up to you. END NOTE.

4 Place dough in greased bowl, cover and let rise. I’ve checked out a lot of crust recipes, and I’ve found recommended rising times ranging from 10 minutes to an hour. So, just make the sauce and call it good when you are done.

Phase II: The Sauce

I got this recipe from my mom. She tweaked it from a Mediterranean cookbook she has.

Ingredients

¼ C olive oil

½ Onion

Six cloves Garlic

1 can Crushed Tomatoes

½ tsp Red Pepper

1 TB Brown Sugar

1 TB dried Parsley

1 TB dried Basil

Salt & Pepper to taste

1 Chop onion. I’m spoiled, I always use my food processor these days.

2 Heat oil. Again, trust me on the amount. It is delicious. Plus, Olive Oil is good for you!

3 Sautee Onion and Garlic. Things should smell delectable right about now.

4 Add Crushed Tomatoes, Red Pepper , Brown Sugar, Parsley, Basil and season with salt and pepper.

5 Bring to boil, then simmer for 10 minutes.

NOTE: This recipe makes more sauce than you will need for a pizza. I used the left overs for Baked Ziti later in the week. Be creative and you will get at least 2 different meals out of the sauce! END NOTE

Phase III: The Assembly

1 Preheat oven to 450.

2 Press dough into greased pizza pan. I try to create a crust lip around the edges as well.

3 Spread sauce on dough. You are witnessing the perfect marriage of crust and marinara. That’s why I took pictures.

4 Toppings time! We were ‘boring’ and went for an Italian cheese mixture of Mozzarella and Parmesan. Please let your imagination go wild and pile whatever toppings you desire on your creation.

5 Bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until cheese is all bubbly.

There you have it! I’m in the mood for pizza and I just ate breakfast! If you have the extra time, try making your own crust and sauce. I recommend it. Thirty minutes in exchange for this cheesy, saucy masterpiece is a small price! Enjoy your next pizza night with “I made this from scratch” pride.

One Response to “Homemade Pizza*”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s for dinner? Baked Ziti Edition « Milk & Cookies - April 29, 2011

    […] can certainly use a store bought jar, but I used my homemade marinara. If you want to try it out, see the details here under “The Sauce” heading. As a bonus, the sauce recipe makes enough to use in two meals. I used this batch for this dish and […]

Leave a Reply

